Chocolate Chip Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This pie was great!! I followed some of the other reviewer suggestions and only used 3/4 cup butter and a deep dish pie pan. Really simple to make as I used store bought pie crust. I also sprinkled a handful of chips on top with about 15 min baking time left. Definitely will make this one again!! Oh I also didn't use any nuts this time but I'm sure it will be great with either pecans or walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
So good! Only change I made was to reduce butter to 3/4 c. Just like a ooey gooey chocolate chip cookie fresh out of the oven. Great with ice cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I saw a chocolate chip pie at a restaurant recently that looked so good that I knew I'd have to fine the recipe. This pie was a cinch to put together and Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I brought this to a friends house for a picnic. As soon as I put it on the dessert table, it was cut and gone. People were raving about it. Simple to make, great tasting. Will definately keep this one in my recipe box. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
If you've ever had chocolate chip cookie pie, you would know that this is SUPPOSED to be a gooey pie! It is not supposed to be like a giant/thick cookie in a pie shell...it's gooey rich sweet decadence in a pie shell! That being said, I omit the nuts, usually cut down a bit on the butter and add a teeny bit of salt. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very good! I believe some of the reviewers here are mistaken when they say that when you take it out it's not done. The thing is, although it's gooey, it's definitely done. The filling of pie's are usually gooey. But it definitely tasted better after refrigerating it. The gooey filling is hardened and it tastes like a delicious brownie-like dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Excellent and simple. My 10 year old son wanted to make a pie and he picked this one. After reading reviews I did cut the butter to 3/4c. Turned out great, very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Bunny Chef
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
My changes were to only use 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 t vanilla (I'm not a huge fan of vanilla and using half ended up being a good decision!), leave out the nuts (we don't like them), and 1/8 teaspoon salt. I read a bunch of the reviews first and made sure to beat my eggs for about 3 minutes in my mixer, and added my melted butter when it was warm rather than hot. Then I checked the temperature of the batter before adding the chocolate chips to make sure it wasn't warm enough to melt them. I read that the chips sink to the bottom of the pie, so used 3/4 cup regular chocolate chips and 1/4 cup minis because I thought maybe the minis wouldn't sink. Turns out they'll sink no matter what size they are! 40 minutes after putting the pie in the oven, I sprinkled the top with another handful of chocolate chips. My pie was actually done after 50 minutes. I stuck a toothpick in the center and it came out mostly clean. The pie is wonderful- it's just like eating a soft, gooey, fresh from the oven cookie. Even when it cools and firms up, the texture is still like that! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
WAY too much butter. I thought it was a good idea, but definately NOT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I recommend using a DEEP dish pie crust! My filling overflowed in my oven which created lots of smoke. After cleaning up the mess, I finished cooking the pie and it was very good and RICH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States