Chocolate Chip Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Was good, but we probally won't make again. WAsn't a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This is a very good pie with a consistency like a buttermilk pie, which was a pleasant surprise. I'm glad I waited a couple days to rate it though. I did not like it right out of the oven. It tasted better to me after it sat a day. It also took almost 2 full hours to bake, which was annoying. Next time I'll cut the butter in half as suggested by others. Update: I have now made this twice more. The 2nd time I made it I used 1/2 cup butter and it didn't taste right. This last time I used 3/4 cup butter and it was perfect! Success! And it only took 50 minutes to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this for Christmas this year and it was a huge hit with the kids and adults alike. I served with vanilla ice cream and had many asking for more. One thing I would suggest is only using 1/2 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
If you're after a chocolately pie, this one fits the bill. I used about 1/2 cup of butter which was plenty. Be sure you bring the eggs to room temperature prior to making this. This is a special treat with vanilla ice cream. You're going to love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
My niece Raves about this recipe. She had a tollhouse chocolate chip pie on the vineyard.. and thinks this one is even better..will make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSKIPPY2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This was good, but MUCH too rich for us. We ended up throwing out some of the leftovers.. it was just too sweet. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this the other day and it was awful. I followed the directions exactly but after 1 hour and 30min. it was still not cook inside. I don't know what happened but very dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This recipe has waaaay too much butter in it. I think it should probably read 1 STICK of butter, not 1 CUP. Mine was a gooey, soupy mess that went into the garbage. What a waste of ingredients, very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASHTRASH
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I LOVE this recipe...I've made this the last 3 Thanksgivings (and also to impress a cute boy...totally worked) and it has gotten rave reviews. I'm not a huge pie person, but I LOVED this. It is so rich and delicious. I changed a few things - I omitted the nuts and 1/4 c. butter and used a large-sized graham cracker crust (because I hate pastry crust.) TIP: Many people complain that the chips sink to the bottom. With about 20 minutes left to cook, I just dropped about 20-30 additional chocolate chips on top of the pie. These didn't sink and made it look like a giant chocolate-chip cookie. Way cute...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
this is good (good enough to rate well!), but when they say rich, they mean it. this is so rich, in fact, we probably won't finish it ourselves, and it will get passed on to the boys who work with my husband. likewise, i probably won't make it again any time soon ... but only because it's just too much, which isn't always a bad thing! i used about 1/2 cup more chocolate chips, and no nuts, just because i didn't have any. had to cook it an extra few minutes, too, but that's just my oven. i'd omit most of the salt, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States