Chocolate Chip Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
We made it for Thanksgiving, and for a family of dessert lovers it was good but it was even too sweet and rich for them. I would make it again, but I would half the sugar and corn syrup and it would still be sweet enough. I would also cover the top of the pie in the last 20 minutes of baking - the top got very brown even when it wasn't done enough inside so it was a little soupy. The next day it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup coconut and it tasted really good. Excellent recipe! My neighbor's 2 year old son loved it. I am going to start serving this every year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I wish i would have read the reviews before baking this. Definitely too sweet. Also, too much chocolate, it overpowers the pecan's flavor, i would probably go with 3/4 c of chocolate, if not a 1/2c. very good and very rich, but try your own variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Good recipe; very, very rich! I cut the sugar in half, added 1/4 cup coconut, and baked at 325 for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
When I made four of these pies for my college house of about twenty-five people one night, I earned the nickname "Dessert Goddess." While the praise was rather overly effusive, this is a great pie. VERY, VERY rich though -- it needs vanilla ice cream or quite a bit of whipped cream to cut the chocolatey goodness a little. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
Great the 2nd day. So rich, it goes a long way. Need to bake about 30 min. longer than recipe and give plenty of time to let it set. Over all pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Although this went well at the bake-sale I took it to, the 2nd one I made for home I thought was too rich. I think next time I would make either a chocolate pie OR a pecan one but not one with both things combined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Awesome and very rich pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I bake many pies during the holiday season, and even though the flour in the filling threw me off I decieded to try it anyway. Horrible. That is all I can say. I baked it twice as long as the recipe called and finally it set. The texture was awful. The only thing edible on this pie was the crust...my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is good. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States