Chocolate Chip Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Super sweet and out of this world. The longer you can let it set, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and only used 3/4 cup of chocolate chips and my aunt said it was the best pie she has ever had. She still talks about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is NOT a traditional pecan pie so if that is what you are looking for, the addition of flour in this one makes it more cakey. BUT still awesome! My 4 yr old and I added 1/2 the sugar as suggested by other reviewers and we also made it in a square pan with graham cracker crust and cut into bars with each bar topped with a 1/2 pecan - it got rave reveiws from the crowd - definetly one to try out! Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This pie was a bit too rich for my liking. It took alot longer than the designated cooking time so be aware that you may need to cook it for quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This is a pie I only dare make once a year because I will throw down with anyone trying to get a piece of it. (The best strategy is to let me eat a couple pieces and I'll be on such a sugar high I won't be conscious of what's going on around me.) This recipe is a definate keeper, although I found I had to cook it for 50+ minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Yummy! True it is VERY rich, so you cut 16 slices and get to enjoy it that much longer. I had a similar pie at a national chain restaurant, and this pie is every bit as good. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMW1UT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
When I made four of these pies for my college house of about twenty-five people one night, I earned the nickname "Dessert Goddess." While the praise was rather overly effusive, this is a great pie. VERY, VERY rich though -- it needs vanilla ice cream or quite a bit of whipped cream to cut the chocolatey goodness a little. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I wish i would have read the reviews before baking this. Definitely too sweet. Also, too much chocolate, it overpowers the pecan's flavor, i would probably go with 3/4 c of chocolate, if not a 1/2c. very good and very rich, but try your own variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Although this went well at the bake-sale I took it to, the 2nd one I made for home I thought was too rich. I think next time I would make either a chocolate pie OR a pecan one but not one with both things combined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Good recipe; very, very rich! I cut the sugar in half, added 1/4 cup coconut, and baked at 325 for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States