Chocolate Chip Orange Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Best zucchini bread I ever tasted! For some reason though, it stuck to my loaf pan and wouldn't come out in one piece. Next time I will try some parchment paper. And there will definitely be a next time. I threw out my previous zucchini bread recipe, and am keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is an unusual combination of flavors. Not great, not horrible, just different. I had a problem with the chocolate chips sinking to the bottom, as well as this sticking to the pan, even though it was thoroughly greased. I am glad I gave this a try, but probably won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Finally a zucchini bread that I like because it was never a favorite here. Guess it is the orange that makes the difference - gives it some zing and a more sophisticated flavor. Just too sweet tho - really do not need all that sugar so cut it back by 1/2 cup and also subsituted applesauce for half the oil. These are changes I normally make. This is so rich tasting we use it as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I make this recipes exactly as it was written and I found it to be good...not great. I was surprised how much of the orange flavor came through. I think I will make it again just when I am looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is AMAZING. I had no nutmeg so I left that out, but it still turned out great. I thought it could have taken a little more zucchini...maybe 2.5 cups or so. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is fantastic recipe! I substituted 1 cup sugar for 3/4 cup honey. Also used a little whole wheat flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. I wanted to make this recipe a little lighter, so I used half the amount of oil called for in this recipe and substituted organic unsweetened applesauce. I also cut the sugar in half. When I cut this recipe in half, the recipe asked for 1 1/2 eggs, so instead of using half of an egg, I just added two extra tablespoons of organic unsweetened applesauce. The recipe didn't specify which kind of unsweetened chocolate to use so I used mini-chocolate chips that I had on hand. I was able to get 12 muffins out of on recipe--I baked them at 350 for 20 minutes. These muffins turned out dense and moist. We all really liked these muffins, though I'd like to play with the recipe a little next time. Maybe up the spices to taste, add a little vanilla and use melted butter instead of vegetable oil. I think this recipe would be good with blueberries or even raisins instead of chocolate chips, too. That's really personal choice, not reflective of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
My daughter loves these..I leave out the nuts and add extra dark choc chips and extra orange zest. I also use 1/2 c less sugar and make them into muffins. I freeze some muffins so she can pull them out for breakfast when she wants them instead of store bought muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Delicious! I used milk chocolate chips (because that is what we prefer) and used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil because we like the taste of it and use it in most of our baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great recipe. I followed some of the other reviewers and substituted 1 c. unsweetened apple sauce instead of the oil. I also had frozen some zucchini and summer squash, so I thawed them out in the microwave and squeezed out the excess water before adding to the recipe. I also added 1-1/2 c. mini chocolate chips, no walnuts and 2 tsp. orange extract instead of the vanilla extract. I didn't add any zest because I didn't have any, but the extract was a great substitute. I did muffins instead of bread and it made 3 dozen muffins. I baked the muffins for about 20 minutes. Thanks so much for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States