Chocolate Chip Orange Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've made this recipe for years - it's a Thanksgiving tradition. I make half the batch with chocolate chips and the other half with fresh cranberries, and I make muffins instead of loaves. The bread freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was a hit with my family and friends! I used 1 cup of sugar, the zest from an entire orange, applesauce instead of oil, and dark chocolate chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This was so great! I loved all the flavors. I'm definitely making this again soon. I may try adding a little of the orange juice next time for a little more orange flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This recipe is severely sweet. The flavours are fantastic WITHOUT the chocolate chips and a reduced amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I made this a few days ago. My mother-in-law and her breakfast crew made short work of it, absolutely LOVED it. I had to print up several copies of the recipe, the last piece was gone this morning. Due to popular demand, more is being made today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Oh my gosh this recipe was FANTASTIC!! I made some changes though. Instead of using 3 cups of all-purpose flour I used 1 cup and subbed the other 2 using oat flour and coconut flour. I also subbed applesauce for the oil and added and additional 1/2 cup of it and added 2/3 cup of orange juice. Because I used oat flour I knew that the batter would be really dry so adding the extra applesauce and orange juice was perfect. These turned out AMAZING!! They were moist and tasted like mini dessert muffins! I will definetly be making this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe, thanks! I substituted yellow squash for zucchini with no problems. As other reviewers suggested, substituted applesauce for half the oil. I made a batch and a half because that's how much squash I had on hand, and it exactly filled up one muffin tray. In my oven, the muffins were done after 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I've tried this recipe three times and love the flavor. Don't kid yourself--it is not healthful, in spite of the zucchini, but it's the only way I can get my husband or kids to eat zucchini. What you should know about this is that 50 minutes at 350 degrees is about 25 minutes less than what it needs to bake--and I like it soft and a tiny but gooey in the middle! It is a total pain to find this out after it has cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Yum! I've never made zucchini bread before, and I have to admit this was a very quick, easy, and satisfying recipe. I was out of orange zest so I didn't use it at all, and didn't use nuts. (Maybe next time) Like many reviewers suggested, I coated my chocolate chips with flower so they wouldn't sink to the bottom. This bread formed a wonderful crust on the outside leaving the inside soft and decadent. A great way to use up your Zucchini, or get kids who otherwise won't eat it to gobble it down. I'll definitely use this again and modify it according to what I have on hand. I'd like to try peanut butter instead of oil. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacySnook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This one is a keeper for sure. Extremely moist but not dense- still rises high (but I did increase baking powder to 1 tsp instead of 1/4 tsp). my tips are... 1) 1C brown sugar + 1/2C white sugar (can even cut out white sugar. This bread is sweet already, especially if you are going to add chocolate chips) 2) used 2 medium sized zuccs 3) used 1 tsp baking powder (along with 1 tsp of backing soda) 4) Increased cinnamon to 1 tbsp and used 1 tsp of all spices instead of nutmeg 5) used 1C of whole wheat floor + 2 C white flour 6) used 1/2C oil + 1/2C apple sauce 7) added 1tsp of orange extract since I had it in my pantry ** YUMM. really good and moist. I kept 1 loaf wrapped in tin foil and saran wrap in the fridge for 4 days and it was still perfect 4 days later. This recipe is highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States