Chocolate Chip Orange Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Simply amazing flavor! I love this recipe, and have successfully made the following changes: I substituted 1/2 c. of unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 c. oil; I added 3 c. of zucchini; I made muffins instead of loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I love the different levels of flavor in this. I only had 1 cup of zucchini I had frozen in a zippy bag, so chopped another cup of apple. subbed out the cinnamon with apple pie spice. Omitted nuts and used special dark chocolate chips. I love the combo of flavor with the orange and dark chocolate, as well as the spice. Replaced all the oil with applesauce. This looks very pretty when cut. *This makes a nice thick batter, so chocolate chips are evenly distributed throughtout and do not sink to the bottom which sometimes can occur in a thinner batter. A nice holiday bread with a nice change of pace from the mundane zucchini bread recipe. The cooking time in my oven was within the perimeters stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was outstanding -- my favorite zucchini bread recipe. I substituted white chocolate chips for the semisweet, doubled the orange zest (2T), used 1/2 cup applesauce & 1/2 cup oil, and baked for about 55 minutes in a bundt pan ... turned out wonderfully!! I also added an orange glaze (2T juice, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla). I'm making it again today but will try it out with lemon zest instead (and lemon glaze), as that is what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I have made these 3 times now and it gets better every time! This is my favorite 'zucchini' bread. The last time I made it I used the fresh orange juice and mixed with powdered sugar to make a glace while the bread was still warm~~sooooo gooddd.........thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA
Living In: Overton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
MMMMMM! FANTASTIC! The only changes I did was substitute 1/2 applesauce for 1/2 oil and doubled the orange zest. I baked the bread in 2, 8x8 glass baking dishes for 35 minutes. After it cooled I made an orange glaze to pour over the top of it. Oh man....this bread did not last long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
The bread came out moist and excellent in texture and flavor. Pleased with this recipe and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This was great. Definitely wait until the loaf is chilled before slicing. There are a lot of good flavors going on with this bread. I used applesauce instead of vegetable oil, and no one could tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I thought this was very good. I cut the recipe in half to make one loaf. The orange flavor was interesting. Not bad, just interesting. I used half Splenda half sugar. I used yogurt for the oil, used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. I also added some ground flax seed. I did grate some green apple with the zucchini but you can't even tell that it's there. This may sound strange but I put peanut butter on top when the bread was still warm and it was very good. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This was very good. Definitely will make this one again! I left out the nuts and nutmeg. Pressed the zucchini to get some of the liquid out, and added extra orange zest. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This is a great recipe. I made it several times to use up zucchini from the garden. To use 2x the amount of zuccini, just put 1tsp of the salt over the 4cups zucchini for a couple hours and remove the excess water. Great! Also add more orange zest for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States