Chocolate Chip Orange Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
yummy. didnt have any nuts so i made a crumb topping w/ oats to give it some texture. the layers of flavor were wonderful. made 1 loaf and one muffin pan. great way to use my garden zukes.next time i will use half oil and half applesauce as others recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Love, love, love! I wish I could marry this recipe!!! I followed the tips from other reviewers (1/2c apple sauce 1/2c oil and increased the zucchini to 3 cups) I made a couple of changes of my own too - using eggbeaters instead of eggs, used an entire orange for the zest and sprinkled the top with pumpkin spice and raw sugar. It was fantastic! My two boys kept making gagging noise saying it was gross to make bread out of zucchini - HA! They devoured it! Thanks for a great recipe and for helping to prove once again, that mommy knows best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
It wasn't my favorite, but everyone else really liked it. I am not sure if it was because of the almond extract. I like it, but maybe it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Fantastic recipe! My family loved it! Even my picky eater boys. Only thing I changed was I didn't put in the nuts and I switched the amounts on the cinnamon and nutmeg, I just reversed them so there was 1 tsp cinnamon, simply because I'm not a big nutmeg fan. Thanks so much for this recipe! I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Really great recipe. I also used applesauce instead of oil and held the nuts but would love to try it with nuts sometime. Really great taste and the zucchini is a great vegetable to hide in this kind of recipe for kids to enjoy. I might try it with squash as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plumtree, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
The best flavor combination ever! This is our favorite zucchini bread recipe from my three year old grandaughter to my husband. Changing it in any way will do it no justice. I pass it on to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Excellent. I added a little orange juice to bring in more flavor. Substituted Sucanat for half of the sugar, used some wheat flour and did 1/2 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. Delicious, no change in consistency. This made big muffins, mini muffins and mini loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Delicious! Used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups all purpose. Also chopped up a premium dark chocolate bar rather than chocolate chips. Used 1/4 cup canola oil and 3/4 cup applesauce. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
A very heavy, dry and very dense bread. I substituted apple sauce for the oil and that may be why it wasn't very moist. I also used whole wheat flour. This did not turn out well for me. Perhaps if I had followed the directions exactly I might have had better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Photo by margieleow
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
A very tasty & moist bread. Increased the zucchini to 3-4 cups for 2 loaves of bread as recommended by other cooks. I used 50% all purpose flour and 50% whole wheat flour for a heavier textured bread. Used 1 cup of white and 1 cup of brown sugar but will reduce the amount next time as it was a tad sweet. As we didn't have any chocolate chips at home, I chopped up a 100g bar of Belgian Cote d'Or NOIR Orange 70% cocoa and added 1 tablespoon of lime juice and used lime zest instead which worked very well with the recipe. It was excellent. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margieleow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 121-130 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States