Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2000
They were pretty good! The insides are like cake and the outside is crisp. Don't use this recipe if you are looking for chewy cookies. I recommend adding a little (1/2 tsp. to 1 tsp.) cinnamon also for more flavor. I agree that they were pretty pale -- don't leave them in the oven longer b/c you think they need more color b/c they'll burn! The cinnamon adds a little color also....I bet nutmeg would work well too. I would make them again. They're very fast and relatively easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This recipe was the best Oatmeal Chocolate Chip recipe that I've ever found, although I did use 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract and I left out the walnuts. I dropped the dough in very small balls and wound up with many more than anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Very tasty cookies. Flavor may be too rich for some, but not me! We sometimes substitute apple sauce for the butter to reduce the fat content. Cookies w/the apple sauce are chewier and more moist. Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I noticed so many different changes were made to this recipe with varying results. I decided to stick to the original recipe and see for myself. As it turned out i had no nuts, nor did i have milk so i omitted them. (I don't understand why milk would be listed anyway as it would thin the dough too much) Also i was using a dark baking sheet so i lowered the temperature to 350F and baked for ten minutes. They did not go flat as others mentioned, they were crisp and golden on the outside and moist and chewy on the inside. My whole house smells wonderful too! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Yum! I made these as bar cookies, and they were delicious! They tasted very similar to traditional chocolate chip bar cookies, but the oats gave them a nice, chunky consistency. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
We had several problems with this recipe and eventually threw out the first two batches. By adding a half cup of flour, we were able to save the third batch. We added cinnamon to give a little twist and hide the additional flour needed to keep the dough together. The cookies were very thin and flat, quick to burn on the edges and not cook in the middle. They stuck to the pan and the taste was lack-luster. I will not recommend this to someone I considered a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I too had to add more flour to the recipe. I used 2 2/3 c. First batch I made didn't look done and were flat. But when I added the extra flour they turned out fine. Nothing spectacular, just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
I made the bar version & This is the all-time best cookie recipe EVER! I never have walnuts, so I sub with coconut, but they are SO GOOD! I love you, Rosina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Recipe was very good, but then again I am a sucker for oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. I didn't add walnuts to mine, though. Like everyone said, they do look very pale when you take them out, but they get darker while cooling. And I only cooked mine for 9 minutes and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Soft, but with lots of chewy texture from the oatmeal. I made mine larger than the recipe directed and I think that may contribute to their being nice and thick and tender. I love oatmeal cookies with chocolate covered raisins so I used them instead of the chocolate chips and nuts. Just a darned good, reliable, cookie jar oatmeal cookie, one to keep in your recipe box to return to over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States