Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
After reading the reviews, I decided to change a couple of things, I switched the measurements of the brown and white sugars and added 1/2 teaspoon baking powder. Absolutely the best, just what we had envisioned on our tastebuds. Light and crispy and not gooey in the center. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Used a little more chocolate and a little less oats, awesome cookie! They are thick and chunky like a store bought cookie. Will defenitaly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I've made this recipe twice now, both having very different results. The first time I used half butter and half crisco as some of the other reviews had mentioned.The cookies turned out cake like inside with the outside crispy (which is the way I LOVE them :)) This last time I made the recipe, it was according to the directions (only because I forgot that I originally did the substitution)and my cookies turned out very flat and crispy. So, depending on your tastes, this recipe can be modified to accomodate everyone's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was a good standard recipe. The consistency after baked was amazingly chewey. Even the ones I overcooked stayed soft! I substituted golden rasins for the chocolate chips, but I found that the flavor of the cookie itself seemed to overpower the flavor of the rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made these cookies and they turned out great!! my whole family loved them, also took some to work and they where a big hit!! Im going to be making them again today, seems to be a Sunday ritual! :-) Thanks for a great recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
These cookies are, hands down, the best. EVERYONE goes out of their way to say how delicious they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I tried this recipe but with some changes. First I used half butter and half crisco and used dark brown sugar instead. I also used a combo of milk choc, semi-sweet choc, and white choc chips, craisins, and chopped pecans for add-ins. They were the rave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I noticed so many different changes were made to this recipe with varying results. I decided to stick to the original recipe and see for myself. As it turned out i had no nuts, nor did i have milk so i omitted them. (I don't understand why milk would be listed anyway as it would thin the dough too much) Also i was using a dark baking sheet so i lowered the temperature to 350F and baked for ten minutes. They did not go flat as others mentioned, they were crisp and golden on the outside and moist and chewy on the inside. My whole house smells wonderful too! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I'm at high altitude (5,000ft.), so I baked them for the 9 minutes listed and the second batch was 10. They looked a bit brown, not to pale. Keep the spoon heaping when you put them on the pan, the smaller scoops I used were flatter. I also used half butter and half butter Crisco. I added a little bit of flour (just heaped the measured amount) but it still seemed sticky, so I added a touch more. I also added a sprinkle of nutmeg and a little more than a sprinkle of cinnamon. I split the batch in half in the end and added the chocolate chips to one and raisins to the other. Good taste. Might use this one again, might try another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNANGEL719

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I loved this recipe my kids will not stay out of these cookies, i wanted to give them to friends and they were gone to fast. I did add half milk chocolate chips and half butterscotch chips and added coconuts and walnuts so good try it and so they wouldnt go hard i add a slice a bread to my storage of the cookies it keeps them soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States