Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Absolutely moist and flaverful!! wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is a really simple, moist, tasty cake. I've baked it a couple times now and both my hubby and my kids love it. The first time I made it exactly as written. The second time, I added half the chips (although I didn't really measure so I probably used more than 1 cup) to the batter and then sprinkled the rest on top. I liked it this way much better. Added more flavor to the cake itself. I saw that someone said the cake didn't freeze well. I baked mine in a 13x9 pan and cut it into squares and then froze them in baggies to toss in my kids' lunches. My husband would eat it straight from the freezer! And it's the only chance I had of saving any of the cake for later -otherwise it would all be gobbled up the first day! Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shazam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years. It's my all time favorite chocolate cake recipe and people beg me to bring it. I prefer the Old Fashioned oats to the Quick Cook; be sure that you don't use instant oatmeal. Add 1 tsp. to vanilla. I use 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp. of cocoa, but I have seen the recipe calling for 2 Tbsp. cocoa which would make it really dark. I put nuts and chips IN the cake and ON TOP both. Bake in 13 x 9 " pan at 350 for about 40 minutes until toothpick comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This cake is yummy good! I used coffee for 3/4c of the water and added 1 tsp. vanilla and mixed some of the choc chips and walnuts into the batter. I dusted the cake with some 10x sugar after it was baked. I love the texture added by the oatmeal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I was wondering about an oatmeal cake with chocolate chips, I found this recipe and it did not disappoint! I added shelled walnuts instead of pieces, baked it in a 9x13 pan, baked longer by about 5 - 10 minutes and topped with cream cheese frosting. Simply delicious, satisfies the sweet tooth but not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Love this easy, wonderfully moist cake and it is pretty healthy too, with relatively low fat. I substituted Splenda for 1/3 of the sugar and used one-half whole-wheat flour. I mixed the chips in the batter, but wish I had not as they sunk to the bottom. Next time I will sprinkle them on top, and there will be a next time cause it is a yummy little snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This is VERY similar to a recipe I've been making for years. Only change is using 2 cups chocolate chips instead of one cup of chips and one cup of walnuts. It is then baked in a 9x13 pan at 325 degrees for 30-40 minutes. I also often use old-fashioned oats for added texture. I especially like using this recipe when taking to potlucks or school events where frosting would be messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I have made this recipe since I was 12 years old. Over 36 years! Every time I make it, it's a hit! I have always added half the bag of chips to the batter and sprinkled the rest on top with the nuts. It stays moist for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is easy and yummy. We have whipped cream for a topping. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Good recipe. I put the chocolate chips in the cake and used 3 tablespoons of cocoa, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Very Moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States