Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Delicious and moist! I made some changes to the recipe; I added 1 cup milk, 1 cup chips, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup oil, and some vanilla essence. With the sugar topping, they were plenty sweet. Only problem was there was way too much batter for 12 muffins; I ended up making two trays and they were done in 18 minutes. I give it four stars only because of all the changes I had to make; otherwise it would be five!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
647 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
These turned out great - I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 1 cup milk (instead of 3/4 cup) and also used slightly more oil. They turned out fluffy, moist and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_YU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I have been using this recipe for a year now and it is my "official" chocolate chip muffin mix. By making some very simple alterations, I've had some really wonderful results. First, to combat dryness, I add the amount of 3/4 cup of milk AND 1/4 cup of sour cream. Not enough moistness for you? I've gone as much as 1/2 cup of the sour cream and been happy with it--depends on your tastes. I also add a teaspoon of vanilla extract into the batter, which lends a great flavor. I love the topping of sugars, but they are also wonderful with coarse sugar sprinkled on the top. It's a simple recipe that yields consistant results. My daughters love these muffins and request them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I made these this morning. They were super easy to put together. The smell was wonderful and the taste is even better. I followed the other reviewers advice and used the full cup of Milk. I also added in about a 1/2tsp of Vanilla. They were a hit for breakfast. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
These muffins were ok, but not the best by far. I'll keep looking. I did add 1 cup of milk (instead of the 3/4) and an extra egg + 1/4 cup oil (instead of 1/3), and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, which seemed to make them better. Overall, there is a key ingredient/taste missing from these muffins that I can't quite put my finger on....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I just felt like muffins tonight, so I found this recipe. SUPER EASY. I used 1 cup of milk and 1/2 tsp vanilla. These items were too important for the author to miss, so I rated this 4 STARS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Really, really good. Deliciously moist. I changed the bake time to 18 minutes as suggested, and they turned out perfect. The picture they have doesn't do them justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I thought these were delicious and very quick & easy to make. I didn't use the topping/glaze and used 1 c of the big chocolate chips instead of the minis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
Very easy, but I would probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
While it usually drives me crazy when reviewers go tinkering around with recipes, I thought this was a good one. As an experienced baker, though, one usually creams the wet ingredients with the sugar and then adds the dry...which is what I did. I blended the oil, 1 cup of milk, egg (and I added some vanilla) in my Kitchenaid...then added the dry ingredients and hand-stirred in the chips. The sugar on top was a nice touch and my muffins came out just fine. I'd definitely make these again. If you don't use cupcake liners, don't bake these as long...the sugar will burn along the sides of the muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 662) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States