Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by monokuroboo
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I don't have fresh milk at home so I used 1/2 cup of evaporated mike and 1/2 cup of water. I also used 1 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips. I sprinkled some coconut flakes on top of the batter instead of sugar toppings. The muffins turn out really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
The muffins were GREAT. But i did make a few changes. I started with the original recipe but it was more like dough rather than batter so i added a bit more milk. I also added an unmeasured amount of vanilla extract. I do agree though, without the chocolate, the muffins were a bit bland.The texture was light and fluffy. If you try this recipe, be sure to make adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cordeelia Clarke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I thought I had made a horrendous mistake by following other peoples advice and adding another 1/4 cup of milk. The batter was thinner than cake batter and I was worried. However after baking them they came out great! I also added a tsp of vanilla and that added some extra flavor. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
The muffins were great, but I too had to make a few changes. I followed the advises given by others here (1 cup of milk, some vanilla sugar, 1 cup of chocolate chips, no sugar on top and to bake for 18 min) and added 1 teaspoon soda bicarbonate, 2 teaspoones cinnamon, a couple of drops of lemon juice and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar instead of the only half cup of white sugar given in the ingredients. After the muffins were done I put some Nutella as frosting and they tasted amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Overall good recipe but the sugar topping is completely unnecessary. Baked up really well. I filled my muffin cups rather full so it only made 9. I always just use an ice cream scoop to fill the muffin cups to make it easier and faster for me; there's the added bonus of a really high muffin top that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I cannot understand how this possibly got four stars. The only reason I'm giving it two stars is because the flavor was okay. Everything else about this muffin is completely wrong. I make muffins often, and should have been tipped off by the strange portions of the ingredients. I did add more milk, as other reviewer's had suggested, because otherwise there's no way the ingredients could have even been stirred. And I have no idea what they were thinking they putting sugar on top, terrible. Don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I gave this recipe 5 stars as it's such an easy recipe to work with. I did make a few changes as suggested by others. I added 1/4 cup more of milk and 1/4 cup of sour cream. Love the sour cream! I added 1/2 tbs of vanilla extract. When making these, I mixed the flour, salt and baking powder together. I added it to the other ingredients as I prefer to mix sugars with the wet ingredients. And, I added the chocolate chips last. We love chocolate so I doubled the chips. I baked them for 20 minutes and they were perfect. I think cook time depends on your oven. I particularly loved the sugar topping. It added some sweetness as the muffins aren't super sweet. And it also added a slight crunch. Husband and kids love them. I'll be making more soon. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I was looking for a muffin recipe with limited ingredients since I was stuck inside the house during a storm. After reading the reviews I decided to try this recipe with the alterations suggested (I used 1 c (almond) milk, 1/2 c oil, 1 teas. vanilla and 1 c reg. sized choco. chips). Unfortunately, the muffins were very bland, and not very sweet. I would not make these muffins again due to their lack of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Dry and tasteless, even with additions. I love to bake and will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
3 words, Oh, My Gosh. These muffins are so easy and taste so good. My kids loved them. I followed some tips from other bakers. To use 1 cup of milk, and 1 cup of the chips. They turned out super moist and mouth-watering. I doubled the recipe, because my kids love muffins, and all of the muffins were gone in less then 10 minutes. I will definetly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States