Chocolate Chip Meringue Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Ooh, are these good! I am gluten free and on a perpetual diet, so these are *perfect* for me! I got a brilliant idea and tried a batch with powdered peanut butter instead of cocoa. Learn from my fail: don't bother! It deflated a beautiful batch of meringue into brown peanut-egg goo. The cocoa batches, on the other hand, have always turned out. These same cookies sell for $6 at the local grocery store. I feel pretty nifty when I make my own fresh ones at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Flavor gets 5 stars with its cocoa goodness. But they crumble when you bite into them - so 4 stars overall. Easy and they store well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was my first time ever making meringue and they turned out better than I was expecting. I also made two dozen larger ones rather than 40 smaller portions with no adjustment to the time. They have a really nice flavor but I'm not sure about the texture yet. I have never had them before so it might be something I grow to love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobyn42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
These are like clouds and chocolate had little chocolate cloud babies we can eat! Sooooooo good! I followed the recipe exactly and used dark chocolate chips. I have a stand mixer and used egg whites at room temperature. Popped them in the oven, turned off the oven after an hour and just walked away and left them overight. 3 words, Best. Breakfast. EVER! (we didn't become working bill paying adults to NOT occasionally eat cookies for breakfast)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela Eve Hudkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This also works very well with powdered egg whites. Found a can of powdered egg whites in the markdown @ grocery store so decided to try it. I also used powdered sugar rather than granulated. Next time I will try it with half sugar sub and half sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Probably the most amazing cookie I have ever made....I followed the directions as per recipe and WOW...just WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
These are tasty little meringues. We've made them before and they were great. Whoever said they worked with Splenda must have done something different than me because mine didn't work out very well with it. The batter lost its fullness and only made about 34 drop- bite- tiny- size cookies, and also had a little aftertaste. They work much better with real sugar; a real melt- in- your mouth delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I just made 2 batches of these for a cookie swap. 1st batch - eggs were cold and I didn't add cream of tartar at first. The eggs would not form hard peaks. Half way through mixing with the sugar already added, I added 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar. This helped dramatically. Second batch, brought eggs to room temp before starting and added the cream of tartar at the begining, amazing time saver. Batter formed peaks beautifully and quickly. Didn't add cocoa, just mini chips. they turned out great. These are a blast from the past for me. Thanks mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My mom used to makes these when I was a little girl. She called them angel clouds, and she omitted the cocoa powder. Here is a tip. Make these at night, and when they are done, turn off the oven and let them sit in the oven over night. The next morning the centers will be perfect. Awesome with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Valley, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Ok I'm not sure what I did wrong. I made them following the recipe except only left them in the over for 1 hour instead of 2. they taste pretty good but the top and middle separated and the top is like a brittle layer that crumbles when you touch it. any ideas what went wrong and how to fix it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States