Chocolate Chip Meringue Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
These are extremely simple to make, and I can also confirm that Splenda does work well if you’re looking for a healthy option. The trick to making these best is to keep the size small. The first batch I made the drops were about a table spoon in size and they got hollow with a gummy center. My second attempt I used almost level teaspoon size drops and they were truly amazing. When they come out bite sized they just melt in you mouth. I also agree that there is no need for more then 45 minutes of cool down time in the oven after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Awesome! Can't believe these cookies are so low fat. I made 24 good size ones instead of 40 small drops. They were amazing! Will make again for sure 'cause I'm addicted...For weight watchers people, the whole recipe is only 12.5 pts and they are so sweet that you can even make it without chocolate chips and that would be only 8.5 pts total!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
The first time I made these cookies, I think I might have overbeaten the eggs because the cookies which were baking on the lower rack of the oven kind of collapsed in on themselves in the middles...even so, they were incredibly yummy :). I made a second batch today and before I started beating the eggs, I added a few drops of lemon juice (I heard that a little acidity can help the eggs keep their shape when whipped). This time the cookies baked perfectly - looked just as good as I knew they tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Great Recipe! Just a hint: I have discovered that this recipe turns out better on low humidity days, rather on days with a higher humidity and/or rain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Yum! It's almost impossible to believe that these cookies are low fat because they taste soooooo good! I made 13 bigger cookies and put them all on one sheet only about two cm apart, baked them for the hour and then let them lit in the oven for about 30 minutes, and they're perfect! The outside is nice and crunchy and the inside is soft and sticky (but not under cooked), but then once ya start chewing it, the outside melts in your mouth and the inside is wonderfully chewy. When the cookie's nearly gone, it actually tastes like a chewy brownie! I've already eaten three of the cookies and these are a repeat for sure! So easy to make, so good, so good for you... I think I might also experiment with leaving out the cocoa (though it was excellent) and adding cinnamon chips instead of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I GIVE UP!! I've tried to make these cookies three times now and each time they've turned out horrible. I beat the hell out of the eggs (pardon my french), I tried adding cream of tartar and salt, I tried real eggs and fake egg whites - all to no avail. Please help me, I want a 22 calorie cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
loved this recipe. I'm a WW member, and this is a treat worth sharing with other members. I did alter the recipe a bit after reading other reviewes. I baked them for 45 minutes, added 1/4 teasp. cream of tartar, and sifted the cocoa powder (this gave the cookie mix a better consistancy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Very light and delicious! I love adding in walnuts for a different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I love these cookies! I followed another rater's suggestion and used dark chocolate chips; I also added ½ tsp of crème of tartar just to be sure I obtained nice peaks. This is the best chocolate meringue recipe that I've ever used. Yummy!!! Tastes great and it's low in fat-high in anti-oxidants! Such a nice treat to have around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDFARM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Easy and delicious. I used 1 cup of chocolate bits, because 1/2 cup did not seem to be enough. I also only left them in the oven for about 45 minutes after baking instead of 2 hours and they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIGNON1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States