Chocolate Chip Meringue Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I just made 2 batches of these for a cookie swap. 1st batch - eggs were cold and I didn't add cream of tartar at first. The eggs would not form hard peaks. Half way through mixing with the sugar already added, I added 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar. This helped dramatically. Second batch, brought eggs to room temp before starting and added the cream of tartar at the begining, amazing time saver. Batter formed peaks beautifully and quickly. Didn't add cocoa, just mini chips. they turned out great. These are a blast from the past for me. Thanks mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My mom used to makes these when I was a little girl. She called them angel clouds, and she omitted the cocoa powder. Here is a tip. Make these at night, and when they are done, turn off the oven and let them sit in the oven over night. The next morning the centers will be perfect. Awesome with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Valley, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Ok I'm not sure what I did wrong. I made them following the recipe except only left them in the over for 1 hour instead of 2. they taste pretty good but the top and middle separated and the top is like a brittle layer that crumbles when you touch it. any ideas what went wrong and how to fix it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Love these guilt-free treats. These will satisfy your chocolate cravings without making you feel like you need to hit the gym. Even my kids love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I baked for only 30 mins in my oven and ended up with a fudgy center. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Delicious! I made them without the chocolate chips, doubled the recipe and still only got 40 meringues. They are soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Classic meringue recipe. I also added cream of tartar to stabilize. My one quibble with this recipe as written is that it only makes ~20 very small cookies, not 40. I have made this several different ways and my favourite is with almond extract instead of vanilla and topped with a couple of sliced almonds and a bit of powdered sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I tried this recipe and I found it pretty easy considering it was my first time making meringue. The drops came out pretty tasty, I'm just wondering what type of cocoa and chips were used?? I used Nestle Toll House for both. I liked it it's just that the inside just wasn't what was described or expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by i_like_cheese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Grove, New York, USA
Living In: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
These were absolutely delicious! I'm not sure if I made them perfectly since they were still a little chewy (I was impatient and didn't let them cool long enough). The flavor was still great, though. I made them last night and they're all gone now. I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
bake time was a little too much >:( will not be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States