Chocolate Chip Holiday Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I found this recipe years ago and have been making them ever since. My family raves about these and insists I make them every year for Christmas. They are so easy to make but look like you put a lot of effort into them. The only change I have made is to use mini morsels. I think the mini chips look nicer and are all you need if you have the drizzled chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
These cookies were good except that they exploded in your hands. MAke them small enough so you can eat them in one bite. Otherwise great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These look very good. I tried them today and found it very difficult to keep the dough together to make the balls for baking. I ended up putting the dough in a 9x13 pan and baking that way. The cooked cookie fell apart after cooling. Unable to enjoy them at all. I did taste it using a spoon and they are delicious but...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Have made these for several years. We love them! The first time I made them we thought they were too sweet with the chocolate melted on top so the next time and ever since I just put all the chips in the dough. With a tall glass of milk ~ this is heaven! I also use the mini chips as someone else mentioned instead of the regular size chips. My kids ask for these more than any other cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Worked great for me. Just be sure to cut a tiny hole in the ziplock in order to drizzle the chocolate in finer lines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
My Chocolate Chip Holiday Tea Cakes came out fantastic! Made them just like the recipe said and everything! They were a hit at the cookie party and can't wait to make them again! I found that if you use like a melon baller, they come out a bit smaller but they're bite size and don't fall apart as much as they do if you made them regular cookie sized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Mirage, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This cookie is FANTASTIC and very very easy!! I think they have just taken the place of the ordiary chocolate chip cookie in this house. They have definitely found a place in my holiday baking. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
these were by far my favorite cookie this season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Actually, these are a five star. Just need to make them correctly. My father said they were better than his mother's pin wheel cookies that my cousin still makes him each xmas. My brother-in-law loved them, hid them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
The cookies turned out very pretty, but every one that tried them said they were a little dry and crumbly. Not sure I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States