Chocolate Chip Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
These bars were super easy and very yummy! Not at all too sweet for my family. We thought they were a really great treat for the calories (only 170 each if cut into 24). I did add 5 minutes to baking time and that gave the top a nice caramelized effect and browned the bottom a little. Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Yum! These were ooey-gooey and delicious! I followed the recipe as written, except for using a smaller pan (8x8) and greasing it. I didn't bother with the frosting, but will definitely drizzle some melted chocolate chips over the top next time (and there WILL be a next time!) as it looked kind of strange without anything there. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NCwriter
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, but instead of baking the recipe in a smaller pan, I just increased the quantities of everything to 1.5 recipe and used a 13 x 9 pan as stated. It was the perfect amount for the pan. However, although they were yummy, the crust came out really hard and crispy. I think next time (and there will be a next time) I won't cook it as long before putting the topping on, or maybe I'll add a little milk or less flour. Oh--just remembered, I added some chopped pecans, but other than that didn't change the recipe. Even with the hard crust they were deliciously gooey and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I really liked this recipe!!! Super easy and really yummy. I used and 8X8 pan and thought they came out great. Very gooey and soft! I did not make the frosting and they were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
These are amazing!!! Simple preperation & a hit with the crowd. My son needed to take bars for a sports potluck and they were gone by the time the pan hit the table...Coaches have already said they have to be returned for the next potluck!! I didn't change anything from the original recipe & they turned out P*E*R*F*E*C*T!! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Loved these! Made as written other than leaving out the glaze as others suggested. They turned out sweet and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I've tried to describe these to friends and family after I made them and I've realized that there aren't enough great words in the human language that gives this dessert justice!!! It's just GOOD and you should make them, and double the recipe as ours were gone in a matter of a day. I did everything EXCEPT put a glaze on top. Only because I didn't have cocoa powder but realized that they didn't need it. So in lieu of that I put some shredded coconut on top before baking to counter the lack of sweetness the omitted glaze provided. Besides we're always looking for an excuse to put coconut on something. Anyway, SUPER easy, SUPER great, SUPER!! Going to be making them this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
My husband loved these so much that he ate them for breakfast ! Instead of using a 9x13pan, I used a 8x8, without changing the recipe ! It still turned out great ! I omitted the chocolate glaze, at it seemed already too sweet ! It browned very nicely on the top with the suggested cooking time, but the inside remained very gooey. However, my husband loved it gooey like that ! It had a nice chewy texture with the crust almost just like a good chocolate chip cookie. However, I used good quality dark chocolate bars (which I hammered into chips), and used much less than the recipe called for. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Gooey goodness! I substituted a peanut butter glaze for the chocolate one and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
These are so good! After reading the reviews, the consensus seems to be 1)Use a smaller pan (8x8") and 2)skip the frosting. I agree! I made them in a 11x8" pan and think they would be even better (thicker) in a 8x8" pan. I did not use the frosting, instead I melted some chocolate chips and drizzled on top. This was only for decoration, as more chocolate really was not needed. Next time, I think I will skip even that. My description of these bars is like pecan pie, only with chocolate chips instead of pecans and a cookie crust! So gooey and good! P.S. The recipe does not say to grease the pan, but I would. The brown sugar mixture tended to stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States