Chocolate Chip Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
These are so good! After reading the reviews, the consensus seems to be 1)Use a smaller pan (8x8") and 2)skip the frosting. I agree! I made them in a 11x8" pan and think they would be even better (thicker) in a 8x8" pan. I did not use the frosting, instead I melted some chocolate chips and drizzled on top. This was only for decoration, as more chocolate really was not needed. Next time, I think I will skip even that. My description of these bars is like pecan pie, only with chocolate chips instead of pecans and a cookie crust! So gooey and good! P.S. The recipe does not say to grease the pan, but I would. The brown sugar mixture tended to stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
My husband loved these so much that he ate them for breakfast ! Instead of using a 9x13pan, I used a 8x8, without changing the recipe ! It still turned out great ! I omitted the chocolate glaze, at it seemed already too sweet ! It browned very nicely on the top with the suggested cooking time, but the inside remained very gooey. However, my husband loved it gooey like that ! It had a nice chewy texture with the crust almost just like a good chocolate chip cookie. However, I used good quality dark chocolate bars (which I hammered into chips), and used much less than the recipe called for. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
Used light margarine, and had good results. Skipped the frosting directions, and just sprinkled choc. chips on top as they came out of oven. Simplified the recipe... I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
These are amazing!!! Simple preperation & a hit with the crowd. My son needed to take bars for a sports potluck and they were gone by the time the pan hit the table...Coaches have already said they have to be returned for the next potluck!! I didn't change anything from the original recipe & they turned out P*E*R*F*E*C*T!! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Gooey goodness! I substituted a peanut butter glaze for the chocolate one and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
These bars were super easy and very yummy! Not at all too sweet for my family. We thought they were a really great treat for the calories (only 170 each if cut into 24). I did add 5 minutes to baking time and that gave the top a nice caramelized effect and browned the bottom a little. Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was much faster than making cookies and tasted delicious. Next time I will cooke the bottom layer for 1-2 extra minutes to make it a little firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This didn't seem to have enough crust mixture for a 9x13" pan, so I baked in in an 8x11". These bars turn out very soft and gooey. I also skipped the glaze, but I did sprinkle a few chocolate chips on top of the hot cookies and, after a couple of minutes, swirled the melted chocolate. Not my very favorite chocolate chip cookie, but very good, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I added baking time to get these to set. After cooling and cutting, the bars began to 'weep' in places which turned people off. Flavor was good, although very sweet, but I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made these in a 8x11 pan and they are wafer thin and taste like pure sugar. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States