Chocolate Chip Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
Used light margarine, and had good results. Skipped the frosting directions, and just sprinkled choc. chips on top as they came out of oven. Simplified the recipe... I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
My husband loved these so much that he ate them for breakfast ! Instead of using a 9x13pan, I used a 8x8, without changing the recipe ! It still turned out great ! I omitted the chocolate glaze, at it seemed already too sweet ! It browned very nicely on the top with the suggested cooking time, but the inside remained very gooey. However, my husband loved it gooey like that ! It had a nice chewy texture with the crust almost just like a good chocolate chip cookie. However, I used good quality dark chocolate bars (which I hammered into chips), and used much less than the recipe called for. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This didn't seem to have enough crust mixture for a 9x13" pan, so I baked in in an 8x11". These bars turn out very soft and gooey. I also skipped the glaze, but I did sprinkle a few chocolate chips on top of the hot cookies and, after a couple of minutes, swirled the melted chocolate. Not my very favorite chocolate chip cookie, but very good, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
very good cookie bars with a new taste. overall a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
These bars were super easy and very yummy! Not at all too sweet for my family. We thought they were a really great treat for the calories (only 170 each if cut into 24). I did add 5 minutes to baking time and that gave the top a nice caramelized effect and browned the bottom a little. Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Gooey goodness! I substituted a peanut butter glaze for the chocolate one and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Followed the directions, and they were okay. I might try them in a smaller pan next time if I make them again. Easy recipe and there weren't any leftovers when served at a church supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was much faster than making cookies and tasted delicious. Next time I will cooke the bottom layer for 1-2 extra minutes to make it a little firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I thought these were very sweet and wasn't expecting them to be gooey. I used an 8"x8" pan and I would probably use a smaller one next time. I also think these would be better with melted chocolate drizzled on them, instead of the chocolate glaze, to cut the sweetness. I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
These looked so good, but they turned out NOTHING like the photo. I was really disappointed in them as they were overly gooey (normally I love gooey!) and had no depth to them. I used a much smaller pan than a 9x13 and the bars still turned out really really thin. I didn't even bother with the chocolate sauce since they weren't good enough as it was. My husband loves everything and he didn't like these bars very much. I will keep looking... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States