Chocolate Chip Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Really yummy - very easy to make especially with kids. Next time I will use a smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These are reminiscent of a pecan bar, with chocolate chips instead. I used half white sugar in both the crust and the filling, because I don't like a toffee-like flavor. I also lightly greased an 8x8 foil lined pan. I don't think the icing is necessary, but it sure adds to the presentation. I would use half the amount of cocoa, butter, and water because i ended up using 2 c of powdered sugar to get a good consistency, which left a lot of left over icing. Since the 8x8 pan makes a deeper cookie bar, I cooked them for 20 min, then lowered the temp to 335 and cooked for another 10 (or until firm). My husband and I both prefered these chilled as to room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I did not really care for these very much. The review that says it tastes like pecan pie but with chocolate chips is right on. After trying them that's exactly what I thought. My husband ate some of them but they did not go over too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Followed what other's said to make in a smaller pan. Never baked all the way. It was so liquidly still that we couldn't bring ourselves to really eat it. I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NCwriter
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, but instead of baking the recipe in a smaller pan, I just increased the quantities of everything to 1.5 recipe and used a 13 x 9 pan as stated. It was the perfect amount for the pan. However, although they were yummy, the crust came out really hard and crispy. I think next time (and there will be a next time) I won't cook it as long before putting the topping on, or maybe I'll add a little milk or less flour. Oh--just remembered, I added some chopped pecans, but other than that didn't change the recipe. Even with the hard crust they were deliciously gooey and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I've tried to describe these to friends and family after I made them and I've realized that there aren't enough great words in the human language that gives this dessert justice!!! It's just GOOD and you should make them, and double the recipe as ours were gone in a matter of a day. I did everything EXCEPT put a glaze on top. Only because I didn't have cocoa powder but realized that they didn't need it. So in lieu of that I put some shredded coconut on top before baking to counter the lack of sweetness the omitted glaze provided. Besides we're always looking for an excuse to put coconut on something. Anyway, SUPER easy, SUPER great, SUPER!! Going to be making them this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Yum! These were ooey-gooey and delicious! I followed the recipe as written, except for using a smaller pan (8x8) and greasing it. I didn't bother with the frosting, but will definitely drizzle some melted chocolate chips over the top next time (and there WILL be a next time!) as it looked kind of strange without anything there. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These are great with about 1/3 c of toasted coconut added between the two top layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I followed this recipe EXACTLY. I'm sure they would be tasty, but I couldn't try the bottom crust, as it was cemented to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
These were good but the next time I make them I will make two changes: I will add pecans or walnuts and I will use a smaller pan since they were very thin. I'm taking them to work tomorrow so I'm anxious to hear what my coworkers have to say about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States