Chocolate Chip Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I used Skor bits and added 2/3 cup of walnut pieces. Baked the bottom 15 min and the top 30 min because I like crispy not gooey. No icing needed. It tastes perfect. In fact it's addictive and I didn't even have any vanilla to put in. You could call this version toffee dream bars. :-) oh and baked 8x8 pan greased
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I accidently added the cocoa powder to the brown sugar,flour, baking powder,salt mixture!! But they turned out fine! Skipped the drizzle of choc. on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
The bottom crust was great. The middle layer was easy to do. I had a little bit of a hard time drizzling the topping because it was too thick. I ended up making another batch and just spreading on the top. I have to say that the taste was good because it was like fudge and everything was gobbled up. Not so sure I would do again because it frustrated me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Good recipe but definitely needs to be tweaked to fit your tastes. I doubled the recipe, and cut down the brown sugar in half in the crust and the filling. I also put it in a 8 x 11 pan. Still too sweet for me, but my 6 year old loves it (of course). Next time I'm cutting down on the sugar even more. Cooked for about 25 minutes and was real gooey when I pulled it out of the oven, but I let set for 15 minutes and we each had a bar. Was still a little gooey but I am sure it will set up fine for tomorrow. So, in short: (Like everyone else has said here) Skip the frosting unless this is going to be made for sugar crazy 6 year olds. Double recipe and cut brown sugar in half. Use smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These were awesome. I didn't bother with the top layer and since I had no vanilla extract I tried it with peppermint instead. I would even give peppermint a go next time. I will for sure make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Delicious! Followed a lot of the comments. Doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan. Came out perfectly. Also let it set for a few hours in the pan and didn't add the frosting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I added baking time to get these to set. After cooling and cutting, the bars began to 'weep' in places which turned people off. Flavor was good, although very sweet, but I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These were too gooey. They didn't set. Maybe if I made them the day before... I think the recipe has potential but needs some tweeking and because of that, I am only giving 2 stars. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was an interesting flavor. It didn't blow me away but it wasn't bad, either. I'd try them again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States