Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Only had margarine so used that. Read a review that said batter was slightly salty, agree. Also, changed flour to one and a quarter cups. Baked up nicely, a pretty cookie. Thought cookie itself, altho perfect in texture, was slightly bland. Used chocolate chips and dried cranberries along with a few drops of almond extract. Will continue to tweak because of how it bakes up. I ended up with 24 medium sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Tasted very salty but otherwise, very chewy and good. I dont keep shortening so I used a butter substitute, not sure if it makes a difference in the consistency. Use less salt and baking soda, freeze until they will keep a shape on the sheet while baking, and use a little more flour. Probably 1 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These had a great chewy texture. I did not have shortening, so I substituted margarine. They tasted way too buttery in my opinion, but I can't hold that against the recipe, and other than that they were great! I will probably use half margarine, half shortening or applesauce in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I was looking for a recipe using shortening as an alternative to my usual recipe since I am out of butter/margarine. I doubled this recipe and realized that it is the same as my usual recipe with a replacement of shortening. I was thrilled because it will be such an easy and wonderful second choice to remember! My mom always made chocolate chip cookies with shortening so, in addition, these have the added bonus of reminding me of my Mother's cookies! I love that it says to bake for 8 minutes--most cookie recipes over bake, 8 is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Very good! Perfect size batch. The only changes I made were 1/4C shortning and 1/4C butter and since I only had XL eggs I used 1 XL egg white. They turned out VERY good! I will definitely make this again. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
FANTASTIC CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE! :) The only substitution I made was to use butter-flavored shortening as that is all I had. I baked for the 8 minutes, they looked underdone but I took them out anyway and let them sit a good 10-15 minutes on the baking sheet before I transferred to the cooling rack. They are absolutely delicious---a definite keeper! I used some leftover Grocery Store Frosting (AR) to sandwich some of the cookies with sprinkles for the kiddos. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Just made these and they are delicious. My husband is in love with them. I replaced all the shortening with butter and doubled the amount of vanilla extract . It made them very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
this cookie was Ok. i tripled the vanilla and only used margarine, maybe u need that buttery taste. 4* due to not following directions as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
These turned out great!! My husband loved them and I ended eating more than a few myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States