Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I teach seventh grade and made these last week for my kids to have after the state testing...WOW was all I heard...these cookies are a BIG hit among teens...and adults! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I tried this recipe based on the strength of the other reviews. I used half shortening and half butter as recommended by other reviewers. The first batch that went into the oven didn't look done to me after the 8 minutes (I have an oven thermometer, so I knew I was at 350), so I left them in another couple of minutes. Mistake! 8 minutes is exactly perfect. Sometimes the timer IS better than your gut feeling! These have the perfect cookie texture, great flavor, I am proud to have these at my house when the mother-in-law comes over, if you know what I mean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I read the reviews and thought I would try this; I sure did think that was a LOT of shorting. Well the cookies have an alright taste they are not nasty by anymeans B U T !!! they fall very flat they need more flour to make them stand up. They ran all over my pan and I ended up with 1 big flat cookie. if you look up at here comment she says 1/2 cup margarine and 1 cup shortening I would try that insead of the all shortening. I will not be making this all shortening cookie agian. hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I made these for a group of teenage girls who all said that these were great. My friend who helped me make them even wanted this recipe to replace here usual recipe. I thought they were pretty good. But unfortunatly I really like a more buttery falvored cookie than these were. I did use butter flavored crisco but it didn't take the lack of butter away. These cookies are nice and soft. I do like having more brown sugar than white sugar, I like the flavor better. When I make these again I will probably modify it a bit and add both shortening and butter (only a 1/3 or 1/4 of what it calls for will be butter until I find the right mix for me) this will hopefully give me the butter flavor I like and still keep them softness that I also like. I have now made it with regular crisco, the flavor isn't all that. Plus make sure the crisco hasn't be sitting around the house too long, that will make the flavor even worse!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This is without a doubt the best chocolate chip cookie recipe. I've been freezing the dough in cookie-size balls, flash freezing them, putting them in freezer bags and giving them as extra treats to my friends when they have new babies. I'm not sure if any of the dough has actually gotten baked, or if it all got eaten straight out of the freezer. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Quick and easy recipe w/ excellent result! I substituted half of shortening w/ butter, and added slightly more vanilla. My husband and son loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
the kids loved it and hubby loved them (he doesn't need to be eating them)! Only downfall to this recipe is that they are addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
Easy to make but I used half the sugar resulting in more of a cakeish cookie. Still good and the chocolate chips made the cookie sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Fabulous recipe! I have made these cookies three times now and loved them every time. After a little experimenting I found what works best for me is using 1/4 cup margarine and 1/4 shortening. Gives just the right texture for my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
This is by far the BEST chocolate chip recipe I have ever tried! My husband usually only eats cookies when they are fresh out of the oven, but when I make these cookies, I can't keep him out of the cookie jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States