Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I really liked this a very simple chocolate chip cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I like this type of cookie, it came out very moist and had a lovely flavor. I did double the recipe and used half margarine and half shortening, baked for 8 minutes and cooled on the pan for 2 minutes then transferred to a wire rack. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This recipe makes a delicious cookie, slightly crisp on the outside, yet soft and chewy on the inside. I made the recipe as written, with the exception of following the instruction in the original recipe notes, and used 1/4 cup regular crisco, and 1/4 cup butter. The cookies were not too flat as some other reviews said, and did not need more flour or the addition of baking powder. I think adding more flour would change the texture and taste of the cookie and I would not recommend it. I also did not chill the dough before baking. The recipe states it makes 12 cookies, but that would be 12 very large cookies. Mine were a pretty standard size, I measured them after baking at 2 1/2 to 3" across, and I got 20 cookies from one original recipe. The cookies took 10 minutes to cook to a light golden brown. This is an excellent addition to my recipe box, great when you don't need a big recipe, and a subtle, yet tasty alternative to the standard chocolate chip cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I substituted butter for the shortening, it made the cookies quite good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
These are the best cookies I have ever made!! Awesome recipe. I subbed 1/4 of the shortening for butter but otherwise followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel_Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
What a great cookie! I made these as is and they were great and tasty. But as any other cook would probably do, I made the 2nd batch and made a few small changes and they were excellent. I used butter flavored Crisco shortening, used all brown sugar and no white (came out to 3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar), and I increased the vanilla to a full teaspoon. This is definitely now my go to recipe for a small batch of chocolate chip cookies so that I can cure my craving without overdoing it with too many cookies. Thank you SO much for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
The taste was good and a lot like any other chocolate chip cookie I've tasted. I had a feeling they would be flat however, so I added a full teaspoon of baking soda and 1/2 cup more flour to thicken them. I'm glad I did as they turned better this way. Adding chopped walnuts or almonds gives them a tasty crunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Just tried this recipe last night and loved it! The only thing that I didn't understand is that the cookies came out flat. So I added a little more flour and baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Easy to make! Had everything on hand for spear of the second cookies. I made a single batch at first. Using a soup spoon to scoop them onto the pan it didn't make a lot of cookies. So I doubled the batch and made more. They all turned out GREAT! Nice BIG cookies that don't drop (cave in) when you cool them. I have an older electric oven so 350 for 12 min was great for me. Try them. I promise you'll love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States