Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
My kids and I loved them! You cannot tell the difference. We used 1/2 cup cornstarch, 1/2 cup brown rice flour and 1 1/4 cup white rice flour for the baking mixture. I used a real egg. I also added 1 tablespoon milk because they were thick and cooked 10 min. They were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
the picture of these cookies is kind of deceptive, i always do a tester cookie before dropping all the cookies on the sheet. when i did it spread about 8" in diameter and about 1/8" thick. . .not really a cookie. so i added almost 2 more cups of the gluten free baking mix before it was passable. but the taste was really incredible, definitely worth the extra time. i made them for a friend who can't have wheat. . but i think they may be better than regular chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Thank you for this recipe!! These were definitely the BEST gluten-free & egg-free cookie I have made. However I will make some changes next time I make them. First I will add probably a 1/2 to a full cup more of the baking mix (without doing this the cookies came out more like lace cookies) and I will either cut back on the salt or baking soda (they were a little salty for our taste.) I used gluten-free, dairy-free chips and cut the sugar back to 1 c. of brown sugar only. I think with more sugar they would've been WAY too sweet. My whole family loves them. The bigger the spoonful the better the cookie. **Since writing the previous rating, I have tinkered with this recipe and have come up with the following changes: add 1/2 c. Teff flour to the dry ingredients, use only 1/2 t. salt, 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/4 c. white sugar. I use about 1/2 bag of "Enjoy Life" chocolate chips. I scoop out about a 2" ball and flatten it before baking. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
I love these cookies. My kid loved them. As a person who recently found out I can't have gluten, this is as good as any wheat filled treat. THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Very good recipe. Just started to bake gluten and dairy free so this recipe was a good experiment. I modified it a bit - dairy free chips and added some xanthan gum. Also have no problems with eggs so did not use egg substitute, used 2 eggs. I used a combination of white rice flour, brown rice flour, potato starch and tapioca flour for the glutem-free baking mix. Thanks for the great recipe. It is fantastic not to miss out on the sweet treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
OK I read many many reviews on this recipe, since I've been on a quest for the perfect GF choc chip cookie recipe for a while now. The search is over- this recipe really is that much better than the others! The cookies are soft/chewy on the inside and crisp on the edges- seriously perfect, and I bake a LOT so I'm tough to please. Here's what I'd recommend on the tweaks, based on the other reviews and my experience: I cut the brown sugar by 1/4 cup, NOT the white sugar, since white sugar adds the crispiness. I think even with the full amount of sugar it would be fine. I used 1.5 eggs, although if you use 2 eggs just up the flour a bit more. I used 2 3/4 cup GF flour (used Bob's GF flour, which also requires 3/4 tsp xanthan gum be added). Cut the salt in half (1/2 tsp) or leave it out if your baking mix has salt in it. Definitely SIFT the dry ingredients as recommended since this makes the cookies softer and minimizes the graininess. If your cookies spread too much, add more flour to stiffen the dough. With the proportions above, I had a totally normal consistency dough. I dropped them onto the cookie sheet and pressed them a bit since the cookies didn't spread on their own. Finally, bake them til the edges/tips are slightly browned. This recipe makes a large-ish batch but I'm so glad I doubled it because these cookies ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
These are the best gluten free cookies ever. My friends can't tell the difference. I had a hard time not eating the whole batch myself! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
These cookies tend to be dry and crumbly if you use "Egg Replacer" as the egg substitute. Instead of all the baking mix, try using 1/4-to-1/2 cup of potato starch to add more moisture to the dough ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katobyron
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Crispy on edges and soft and slightly chewy on inside partly due to the following modification: since dough was too crumbly with just egg substitute, I added 1 egg. Also I used 50/50 butter and Smart Balance margarine. I also added a cup of chopped walnuts. Yummy! I had to bag and freeze cookies in order to keep from eating too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I decided to try this recipe because my boyfriend is deathly allergic to eggs. Since gluten is fine for him, I used regular vanilla extract and all-purpose flour instead of gluten-free baking mix. For the egg substitute I used 3 Tbsp water and 3 tsp baking powder (1/4 cup). Also, I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips because they're the best! My boyfriend said these cookies were the best thing he's ever tasted. My mother's words: "Wow - I guess you really don't need eggs at all." Be sure to check the ingredients on the chocolate chip cookies, though. I bake these cookies for 9 minutes, and when I made this recipe, it yielded FIVE dozen cookies that were a big hit with everyone who tried them!! EDIT: My mom has a friend whose son is allergic to gluten. However when she tried the recipe with gluten-free baking mix, the cookies flattened into formless, crispy, cookie pancakes after being removed from the oven. What happened?? Any suggestions? (But these cookies are still AWESOME with regular flour!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States