Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
These are the best gluten free cookies ever. My friends can't tell the difference. I had a hard time not eating the whole batch myself! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
I love these cookies. My kid loved them. As a person who recently found out I can't have gluten, this is as good as any wheat filled treat. THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Great for my son who is anaphylactic to milk and allergic to eggs. You can find dairy free chocolate chips in some supermarkets now (I go to Save on Foods (Canada)).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
WAY too muc salt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Unfortunately, even though listed as egg free, it isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
Thank you Ms. Arnold! My mom is allergic to wheat and these were perfect! What's better is, the rest of the fam liked them better than she did! My brother didn't even realize they were wheatfree when he tasted them, he just said, 'wow these are good'. So I sent some back to his roommate and he loved them in blissful ignorance, too! Apart from being slightly grainy, which you can't really tell unless you're looking for it, these are fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
These cookies tend to be dry and crumbly if you use "Egg Replacer" as the egg substitute. Instead of all the baking mix, try using 1/4-to-1/2 cup of potato starch to add more moisture to the dough ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Thank You for this wonderful recipe!!! My 2 year old daughter is allergic to eggs and this cookie recipe is the best! I have adapted these for Christmas with green & red cherries with milk chocolate chips. Haven't found them grainy. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I decided to try this recipe because my boyfriend is deathly allergic to eggs. Since gluten is fine for him, I used regular vanilla extract and all-purpose flour instead of gluten-free baking mix. For the egg substitute I used 3 Tbsp water and 3 tsp baking powder (1/4 cup). Also, I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips because they're the best! My boyfriend said these cookies were the best thing he's ever tasted. My mother's words: "Wow - I guess you really don't need eggs at all." Be sure to check the ingredients on the chocolate chip cookies, though. I bake these cookies for 9 minutes, and when I made this recipe, it yielded FIVE dozen cookies that were a big hit with everyone who tried them!! EDIT: My mom has a friend whose son is allergic to gluten. However when she tried the recipe with gluten-free baking mix, the cookies flattened into formless, crispy, cookie pancakes after being removed from the oven. What happened?? Any suggestions? (But these cookies are still AWESOME with regular flour!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katobyron
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Crispy on edges and soft and slightly chewy on inside partly due to the following modification: since dough was too crumbly with just egg substitute, I added 1 egg. Also I used 50/50 butter and Smart Balance margarine. I also added a cup of chopped walnuts. Yummy! I had to bag and freeze cookies in order to keep from eating too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States