Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This came out better than my wheat/egg cookies ever did. I live at high altitude (over 7,000 ft), and finally made a soft, chewy cookie, thanks to this recipe! My only substitution was vegetable shortening instead of butter. I used Bob's Red Mill General Purpose Baking Flour, with about a teaspoon of xantham gum, for my baking mix. I had no problems with runny dough using this version. Thanks for bringing home-baked cookies back to my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
We tried this, wanted to love it, but just couldn't. We used Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten Free Flour, which states on the front that it is ideal for cookies, cakes and the like, but they just ended up tasting like bean pods with chocolate. \
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennerD
Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
OK I read many many reviews on this recipe, since I've been on a quest for the perfect GF choc chip cookie recipe for a while now. The search is over- this recipe really is that much better than the others! The cookies are soft/chewy on the inside and crisp on the edges- seriously perfect, and I bake a LOT so I'm tough to please. Here's what I'd recommend on the tweaks, based on the other reviews and my experience: I cut the brown sugar by 1/4 cup, NOT the white sugar, since white sugar adds the crispiness. I think even with the full amount of sugar it would be fine. I used 1.5 eggs, although if you use 2 eggs just up the flour a bit more. I used 2 3/4 cup GF flour (used Bob's GF flour, which also requires 3/4 tsp xanthan gum be added). Cut the salt in half (1/2 tsp) or leave it out if your baking mix has salt in it. Definitely SIFT the dry ingredients as recommended since this makes the cookies softer and minimizes the graininess. If your cookies spread too much, add more flour to stiffen the dough. With the proportions above, I had a totally normal consistency dough. I dropped them onto the cookie sheet and pressed them a bit since the cookies didn't spread on their own. Finally, bake them til the edges/tips are slightly browned. This recipe makes a large-ish batch but I'm so glad I doubled it because these cookies ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
These were a great texture. I did chill the dough for about an hour, and they did not spead much at all. My hubby said they look like store bought. Used GF Panty AP flour, and made sugar substitutions as well. Also used a couple of eggs rather than egg replacer. In short, this is a wonderfully adaptable GF recipe. I bet it is phenomenal with real sugar! Thanks for the great recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This is my first day of gluten free living so I am probably not doing everything right but thought I would share a couple of changes that I will make the next time. The baking mix that I used was rice flour based & for some reason they did not spread out while baking. As the first tray came out quite round I shaped subsequent batches flatter. Will reduce the salt. The batter was quite stiff & I had a hard time stirring in the large sized chips. Will use mini chips the next batch and add a T of milk if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I like this recipe- though I prefer recipes that use all scratch as opposed to mixes as part of its ingredient list. I think it needs more sugar- the dough is not sweet enough for my taste. Overall- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soy Free Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
The only Problem with these cookies are getting them into the oven. The batter is soooo good. My cookies are still in the oven, but they look and smell great. I used equal parts brown rice flour, Glutinous rice flour, Tapioca Flour and arrowroot flour. I also used yogurt for the egg substitute (Coconut milk yogurt, plain). This recipe could also be easily changed to make it dairy free as well. By using Palm shorting instead of butter, and the dairy free chocolate chips. I use semi sweet chocolate chips from soyfreesales.com they are free of most common allergens. Back again: I have made these cookies many times now. using several varieties of GF flours. They are not all good my favorite purchased brand is namaste's biscuit and pie crust mix. But what I have found out if you freeze the batter first. It greatly improves the texture. Just portion the dough then freeze. Place frozen cookies straight into preheated oven cook until just starting to brown and then cool on the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soy Free Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made these for my husband who is allergic to gluten. He thought they tasted pretty good. I thought they tasted good for being gluten-free. My kids even ate them which is a true test to any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed these cookies. I used white and brown rice flour instead of the baking mix and they turned out great. I also substituted almond extract for the vanilla and added some oatmeal (a little healthier). I will defiantly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These are like little cookie cakes from heaven! Both my son and I are gluten free, and we haven't had a decent chocolate chip cookie in forever. I've tried numerous recipes with no luck, and all the pre-packaged stuff you buy tastes awful. I made a few substitutions because I needed something quick to bring for a birthday party and didn't have any butter on hand. I replaced the butter with 1 cup of fat free vanilla yogurt, used 2 eggs, and only used 1 cup brown sugar and no white sugar (since the yogurt was already sweet). I also added 1 tsp xanthan gum. It made a batch of 28 cookies. I am making these again FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States