Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I took some liberties with this one due to laziness of not wanting to go to the store at night to get the proper ingredients. I was out of butter so I used a 6oz + 2tbp of plain greek yogurt, 2tbp of canola oil, 2 cups of Arrowhead Mills GF baking mix, 1/4 cup of oats, 1/4 cup of cocoa powder and half a bar of dark chocolate that I chopped into pieces and 1/2tsp xanthan gum. I was surprised at how great they turned out; moist in the center and crusty on the outside. They do not spread much so I flipped them halfway and flattened with egg lifter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Used 2 eggs and baked for ten minutes @ 375 degrees. Turned out still a bit chewy-perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I haven't tried this recipe yet, I was looking for a recipe to make for a friend and was shocked to see you needed gluten free vanilla. I did an online search and found a site that says it is not necassary to buy gluten free extracts or vinegars as the distillation process kills all gluten! As it was written by a woman with Celiac Disease and she's the auther of a cookbook, gluten free of course, I would tend to take her word on this. Oh yes alcohols are safe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I guess I am not used to GF yet. I didn't like the gritty flour taste. They are sweet and I used the flour ration a previous member recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harvey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Maybe the different review results have something to do with the brand of GF flour? I used Bob's which is bean based - and I could definitely taste it in the dough, but the cookies themselves were wonderful and I couldn't tell the difference between these and toll house. I did use 2 eggs and I did add 1 tsp xanthan gum, and reduced baking soda to 1/2 tsp (I can always taste it when I am not countering it with an acid). The first couple batches spread nicely, but stuck to pan more than traditional cookies, but the last batch I used parchment paper and they came right off. Mine looked just like the picture. Really a nice treat for my wheat intollerant daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I'm looking forward to trying this recipe. It's going to be the first time I use an egg substitute and hopefully, the outcome will be positive. It's great that more and more people are cooking gluten-free for so many reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Harrisson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this recipe using the recommendation by one of the first reviews, 1/2 c cornstarch, 1/2 cup brown rice flour and 1 1/2 cup white rice flour and a real egg (no allergies here) and they were terrific!!! We were amazed at how great they tasted. I have already made a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These came out great! I like the crispy edges, soft center. I modified by adding 1/2 tsp of Xantham Gum for the 2 cups of flour I used, and I also used a real egg, and added 1/4 cup of oats. They took 10 min to bake on 360. These taste just as good to me as the traditional. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was hit and miss. I made it with more flour as many suggested, and it never spread out. After adding more butter and sugar, they were falling apart. Then I had to play with the baking time, making it 10 minutes, and reducing the cookie size and shaping it on the pan to be round and flat on top so it would hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
GLUTEN-FREE/DAIRY-FREE/EGG FREE TWEAKS: Made these today/delicious, but daughter detected aftertaste of either baking soda or powder, so next time I'll eliminate the baking pwdr (original Toll House cookies only use bkng soda so why would one use both baking soda and baking powder? I will try to find out...) My changes: Increased butter to 1 cup & used a dairy-free butter spread from Whole Foods; Increased vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp; Used 3 tsp EnerG Egg Replacer mixed with 4 tbsp water (as per box instr) This equals 2 eggs; Decreased brown sugar to 3/4 cup; Substituted 1/2 cup agave syrup for the white sugar; Used Red Mill all purpose baking mix & increased to 1 1/2 cups to make up for liquid agave; Decreased salt to 3/4 tsp; Used 2 c dairy-free choc chips; . Baked 10 mins 375 degree oven. Cookies are crisp w/slightly soft middle. Almost perfect! (but no bkng pwdr next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States