Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shammond
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
The BEST Gluten free, vegan cookie! My two sons are allergic to everything and I have been struggling to find a cookie to give me my fix (baby is nursing and I can't eat anything he is allergic to). Like many others, I increased the flour, by 1/4c. I used 2 1/4c of bob red mill baking flour and 1/4c of garbanzo and flava flour. I used ener-g egg replacer, earths balance, for butter, and added a rounded tsp of xanthum gum. These cookies are DELICIOUS!!!! And after my changes, they came out just as pictured??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Good flavor but as written makes very thin cookies. Read other reviews before making to help you make necessary adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
These cookies are the best gluten-free cookies I've ever tasted. We cannot keep them in our house for longer than 2 days! We use a real egg instead of a substitute. And my GF flour mix is equal parts of: sorgum flour, tapioca flour, sweet white rice flour, corn starch, and coconut flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jason
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very good but don't forget to put the dough into the refrigerator between batches or will flatten out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I'll be honest, i'm new to the GF thing and so I didn't have all the different flours on hand. I did find gluten free baking flour store and thought I'd give it a go. My kids and I licked the beaters (obviously, one cannot bake cookies and not eat several spoonfuls worth of dough. For quality control) and I'll be honest, I was a little worried at the odd aftertaste. But I threw them in the oven and barely waited for them to cool before diving in. You really could not tell they are gluten free! I can't wait to trick my father in law into eating one tonight! I have no problem with eggs so I used one instead of the substitute. I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut the brown sugar to one cup and I think it's perfect. I didn't even have to add extra flour to thicken the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Once again I made a batch of gluten free and a batch of standard toll house cookies and everyone liked the gluten free better. Same thing happened when I made zucchini bread. I'm thinking of doing all baking gluten free. Great recipe! I did make 1 ounce cookies and smashed them down a little on the cookie sheet so they came out thin and chewy, a little crispy on the edges. Kinda looks like cookie brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Casey Vertuoso
Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I used 1 egg and 1/2 C corn starch, 1/2 C brown rice flour, 1 1/4 C white rice flour, and 3/4 tsp. xantham gum for the baking mix. Dropped by 1/2 Tablespoonfuls onto baking sheet, but they hadn't spread 6 min. in, so I flattened with a fork. Flavor was WONDERFUL, but they were dry and a bit crumbly, so I'll adjust it more in the future - probably an extra egg (most recipes this size have 2 anyway) and a dash of milk, or use the 40% whole grain flour : 60% white flours/starches I've read about (so 1 C brown rice flour, 1 1/4 C some ratio of white rice flour and corn starch). Two children and I who can all tolerate gluten fine, along with the one who can't, all thought they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Damico Reed
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
These are amazing tasting! I used a real egg and I upped the baking powder to 1 1/2 t. They barely spread at all. And puffed up with cracked tops. Gorgeous and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Trying currently replaced the sugars with 1 cup honey for sweetener and did a bit of macca to have some excitement in them :) ooooh and flours i used a half and half of rice and almond i hope it works out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaNcy Moon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patricia Smith
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These were great cookies. I deleted the sugars and added 1 cup agave. I substituted coconut oil for the butter. I put in dairy free chocolate chips instead of regular chips. I used Bella gluten free all purpose flour. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States