Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Great for my son who is anaphylactic to milk and allergic to eggs. You can find dairy free chocolate chips in some supermarkets now (I go to Save on Foods (Canada)).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Thank You for this wonderful recipe!!! My 2 year old daughter is allergic to eggs and this cookie recipe is the best! I have adapted these for Christmas with green & red cherries with milk chocolate chips. Haven't found them grainy. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
this was a great cookie to have! This is a great treat and great for my celiac disease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I decided to try this recipe because my boyfriend is deathly allergic to eggs. Since gluten is fine for him, I used regular vanilla extract and all-purpose flour instead of gluten-free baking mix. For the egg substitute I used 3 Tbsp water and 3 tsp baking powder (1/4 cup). Also, I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips because they're the best! My boyfriend said these cookies were the best thing he's ever tasted. My mother's words: "Wow - I guess you really don't need eggs at all." Be sure to check the ingredients on the chocolate chip cookies, though. I bake these cookies for 9 minutes, and when I made this recipe, it yielded FIVE dozen cookies that were a big hit with everyone who tried them!! EDIT: My mom has a friend whose son is allergic to gluten. However when she tried the recipe with gluten-free baking mix, the cookies flattened into formless, crispy, cookie pancakes after being removed from the oven. What happened?? Any suggestions? (But these cookies are still AWESOME with regular flour!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
My kids and I loved them! You cannot tell the difference. We used 1/2 cup cornstarch, 1/2 cup brown rice flour and 1 1/4 cup white rice flour for the baking mixture. I used a real egg. I also added 1 tablespoon milk because they were thick and cooked 10 min. They were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katobyron
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Crispy on edges and soft and slightly chewy on inside partly due to the following modification: since dough was too crumbly with just egg substitute, I added 1 egg. Also I used 50/50 butter and Smart Balance margarine. I also added a cup of chopped walnuts. Yummy! I had to bag and freeze cookies in order to keep from eating too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
These are the best gluten free cookies ever. My friends can't tell the difference. I had a hard time not eating the whole batch myself! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Very good recipe. Just started to bake gluten and dairy free so this recipe was a good experiment. I modified it a bit - dairy free chips and added some xanthan gum. Also have no problems with eggs so did not use egg substitute, used 2 eggs. I used a combination of white rice flour, brown rice flour, potato starch and tapioca flour for the glutem-free baking mix. Thanks for the great recipe. It is fantastic not to miss out on the sweet treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
I love these cookies. My kid loved them. As a person who recently found out I can't have gluten, this is as good as any wheat filled treat. THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Modifications: 1/2 butter, 1/2 trex (the closest thing to Crisco I've found in the UK), 2 eggs, used gf bread mix with xantham gum (not sure if that made a difference), and lots of M&Ms. I also made big cookies, approx. 3-4" after baking, undercooked them slightly, and left them on the pan a few minutes longer. These have stayed soft under a cake dome for 2 days so far, and aside from the slightly gritty aftertaste from GF flour (I'm a new gf baker, any suggestions welcomed gratefully), these were super. I think the dough will become a staple all-purpose one--next time I'm thinking nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon, and white chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States