Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was hit and miss. I made it with more flour as many suggested, and it never spread out. After adding more butter and sugar, they were falling apart. Then I had to play with the baking time, making it 10 minutes, and reducing the cookie size and shaping it on the pan to be round and flat on top so it would hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
GLUTEN-FREE/DAIRY-FREE/EGG FREE TWEAKS: Made these today/delicious, but daughter detected aftertaste of either baking soda or powder, so next time I'll eliminate the baking pwdr (original Toll House cookies only use bkng soda so why would one use both baking soda and baking powder? I will try to find out...) My changes: Increased butter to 1 cup & used a dairy-free butter spread from Whole Foods; Increased vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp; Used 3 tsp EnerG Egg Replacer mixed with 4 tbsp water (as per box instr) This equals 2 eggs; Decreased brown sugar to 3/4 cup; Substituted 1/2 cup agave syrup for the white sugar; Used Red Mill all purpose baking mix & increased to 1 1/2 cups to make up for liquid agave; Decreased salt to 3/4 tsp; Used 2 c dairy-free choc chips; . Baked 10 mins 375 degree oven. Cookies are crisp w/slightly soft middle. Almost perfect! (but no bkng pwdr next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These were awesome and no one even realized they were gluten free!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was my first attempt at gluten free baking and it went surprisingly well. I didn't have time to run to the health food store so my only choice of flour was sof'ella gluten free all purpose baking mix. It includes baking powder, baking soda, vanilla powder and sea salt in the ingredients so I omitted these from the recipe. I went ahead and used two eggs because I am not sensitive to them. For the sugar I used 1 cup turbinado and 1/4 cup pure organic cane sugar. The dough was fantastic too. Much better than regular cookie dough in my opinion : ) I followed another reviewers suggestion to freeze the cookie dough after dropping it onto the cookie sheets for about 10 minutes before baking them. They only took about 6 or 7 minutes to cook and while some of them looked not quite ready I pulled them anyway because the bottoms were slightly brown. They were perfect after cooling for a few minutes. Overall, they turned out great! They are not as heavy as regular cookies but I expected that with the gluten free rice flour/navy bean flour in the baking mix. They were chewy and delicious and most importantly my husband approved which is very rare when I try to bake something 'healthy'. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Malibu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This recipe was great!! The cookies baked perfectly and are still chewy! Definitely better than I've made with flour, that's for sure. Based on others' recommendations, I did change it a bit. For the baking mix, I used: 1/2 cornstarch, 1/2 brown rice flour, and 1 1/4 cup white rice flour like one reviewer said, as well as 1 tsp of xantham gum. I also used 2 eggs instead of 1 because the mixture was a bit dry. I think next time I will use more brown rice flour just for nutrition. I'm not a celiac patient, but plan on being a gastroenterologist when I graduate from med school; as a result, I wanted to experiment with gluten-free recipes. This website is by far, better than any cookbook I've looked at!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
followed the recipe and the cookies came out too salty and fell apart easily. :( i might try it again with adjustments, but will probably just look for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This came out better than my wheat/egg cookies ever did. I live at high altitude (over 7,000 ft), and finally made a soft, chewy cookie, thanks to this recipe! My only substitution was vegetable shortening instead of butter. I used Bob's Red Mill General Purpose Baking Flour, with about a teaspoon of xantham gum, for my baking mix. I had no problems with runny dough using this version. Thanks for bringing home-baked cookies back to my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
We tried this, wanted to love it, but just couldn't. We used Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten Free Flour, which states on the front that it is ideal for cookies, cakes and the like, but they just ended up tasting like bean pods with chocolate. \
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennerD
Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
OK I read many many reviews on this recipe, since I've been on a quest for the perfect GF choc chip cookie recipe for a while now. The search is over- this recipe really is that much better than the others! The cookies are soft/chewy on the inside and crisp on the edges- seriously perfect, and I bake a LOT so I'm tough to please. Here's what I'd recommend on the tweaks, based on the other reviews and my experience: I cut the brown sugar by 1/4 cup, NOT the white sugar, since white sugar adds the crispiness. I think even with the full amount of sugar it would be fine. I used 1.5 eggs, although if you use 2 eggs just up the flour a bit more. I used 2 3/4 cup GF flour (used Bob's GF flour, which also requires 3/4 tsp xanthan gum be added). Cut the salt in half (1/2 tsp) or leave it out if your baking mix has salt in it. Definitely SIFT the dry ingredients as recommended since this makes the cookies softer and minimizes the graininess. If your cookies spread too much, add more flour to stiffen the dough. With the proportions above, I had a totally normal consistency dough. I dropped them onto the cookie sheet and pressed them a bit since the cookies didn't spread on their own. Finally, bake them til the edges/tips are slightly browned. This recipe makes a large-ish batch but I'm so glad I doubled it because these cookies ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
These were a great texture. I did chill the dough for about an hour, and they did not spead much at all. My hubby said they look like store bought. Used GF Panty AP flour, and made sugar substitutions as well. Also used a couple of eggs rather than egg replacer. In short, this is a wonderfully adaptable GF recipe. I bet it is phenomenal with real sugar! Thanks for the great recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States