Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I haven't tried to make these yet and perhaps I should wait until I do..planning to make them for a couple friends that have gluten allergies..but I do know that if you soften butter too much that even a "normal" cookie recipe can flatten out like some of you are describing so I would soften the butter only just enough to be able to cream it into the sugar, egg/substitute and vanilla then add the dry ingredients...hope that solves it because here I'm off to give them a try...they just look too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Really good but off course the results will be based on what Gluten free Baking mix you use9too much rice flour and you may get a grainy texture, too much bean and thus a bean taste). I used full eggs, no need for egg substitute in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
These taste great! Thank you, thank you!! I used two eggs instead of the egg substitute and increased the flour by 1/4 cup. As other reviewer's suggested, I reduced the sugar by 1/4 (left out some of the brown), and they're plenty sweet. Instead of baking powder, I added 1 tsp xanthan gum just because it was recommend by my GF baking mix. Even my 14 year old gobbled them up, knowing they are GF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These were pretty good for a gluten free cookie. I'm celiac, so to find a decent chocolate chip cookie recipe is a big deal. I used vanilla bean and demerara sugar (which is similar to brown, but it's a bit more moist and coarse). I left it in the refrigerator overnight to let the flavours really develop. Also, I used earth balance instead of butter because I'm vegan. Wonderful, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice
Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I took some liberties with this one due to laziness of not wanting to go to the store at night to get the proper ingredients. I was out of butter so I used a 6oz + 2tbp of plain greek yogurt, 2tbp of canola oil, 2 cups of Arrowhead Mills GF baking mix, 1/4 cup of oats, 1/4 cup of cocoa powder and half a bar of dark chocolate that I chopped into pieces and 1/2tsp xanthan gum. I was surprised at how great they turned out; moist in the center and crusty on the outside. They do not spread much so I flipped them halfway and flattened with egg lifter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Used 2 eggs and baked for ten minutes @ 375 degrees. Turned out still a bit chewy-perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I haven't tried this recipe yet, I was looking for a recipe to make for a friend and was shocked to see you needed gluten free vanilla. I did an online search and found a site that says it is not necassary to buy gluten free extracts or vinegars as the distillation process kills all gluten! As it was written by a woman with Celiac Disease and she's the auther of a cookbook, gluten free of course, I would tend to take her word on this. Oh yes alcohols are safe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I guess I am not used to GF yet. I didn't like the gritty flour taste. They are sweet and I used the flour ration a previous member recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harvey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Maybe the different review results have something to do with the brand of GF flour? I used Bob's which is bean based - and I could definitely taste it in the dough, but the cookies themselves were wonderful and I couldn't tell the difference between these and toll house. I did use 2 eggs and I did add 1 tsp xanthan gum, and reduced baking soda to 1/2 tsp (I can always taste it when I am not countering it with an acid). The first couple batches spread nicely, but stuck to pan more than traditional cookies, but the last batch I used parchment paper and they came right off. Mine looked just like the picture. Really a nice treat for my wheat intollerant daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I'm looking forward to trying this recipe. It's going to be the first time I use an egg substitute and hopefully, the outcome will be positive. It's great that more and more people are cooking gluten-free for so many reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Harrisson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States