Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This was a great recipe, kinda salty tho. I used one jumbo egg insted of egg substitute, 1 1/4c all purpose almond baking flour mix and 1c sweet rice flour, and added 3/4tbsp xanthan gum. They turned out a bit soft after 8 min, but super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These are INCREDIBLE! I am not gluten free dieting, and I like them as much as my hubby does. I didn't have the premade GF baking mix (I'll get some next time I'm at Whole Foods), so I used 2 parts brown rice flour, 1 part almond meal and 1/2 part cornstarch. We don't have problems with eggs, so I used 1 egg. They're awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Tastes good but very crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These cookies are delicious! I also used two eggs instead of an egg substitute. They are moist, chewy, and taste great! My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Had to make my own GF baking mix, but due to rice allergy I had to substitute millet flour for rice flour. Otherwise I exactly followed the recipe. The cookies came out absolutely awful. They tasted good, but they were crumbly to say the least. Not only did the cookies not rise, they fell in. Basically it looked like a pan covered in pools of dough with chocolate chips stuck on them. I guess maybe it would have worked if you actually had the GF baking mix, but for any substitutions, this recipe is awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I thought the cookies were really good, not too much different than normal wheat cookies with the exception of the texture. I used Brown rice flour, tapioca starch, potato starch and rice flour so maybe that is why. Texture looked more like oatmeal. They were a little crispy on the outside but soft in the middle. Mine baked way longer than 6-8 minutes. I had them in for 12 minutes at 375 but I think 11 minutes would have been perfect. I have a baking business for cookies and cakes (wheat) and let me tell you, this gluten-free baking is a whole new ball of wax. The only reason I am giving 4 stars is because it is way too sweet. Next time I will decrease the sugar to 1 cup and see how it is. I haven't been eating sugar for 30 days so that maybe why as my friends laughed at me when I said they were too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
the taste is great, the only thing is the bit of gritty feeling from the GF baking mix. Any suggestions on how to fix that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was my first shot at making gluten free cookies. Full disclosure, I added a few challenges by making the dough at home and baking the cookies in a propane oven at 8000 feet. Having said that, I followed the other reviews and used 4 cups of the GF flour, cut the salt in half and used 2 real eggs. Meh. I personally enjoy a thinner cookie, and these turn out awfully thick. I also enjoy all things salty, so I don't think the salt would have been offensive to me. I added chopped walnuts, which was a good little crunch. Not sure I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
The first time I made these the only change i made was I used real eggs and they came out pretty too flat. The taste was very good though. I don't advise adding 2 cups more of the baking mix that one reviewer said. I added 1 extra cup the second time and they turned out too fluffy. I don't care for cakie cookies so i was disappointed. I used 2 eggs instead of the substitute and used dark chocolate chips because my husband is lactose intolerant. Next time I will us 1.5 eggs and the said amount of baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubydancer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
These cookies are awesome! I used Bobs Redmill GF baking mix (it recommends using xanthan gum, but I did not add it) and they still turned out soft. I also cut the sugar. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white. For the egg replacer I used ground flax seed. (1 TBSP ground flax seed per 3 TBSP water is equal to one egg) I used enough to replace 2 eggs. I also used dairy free chocolate chips. I was amazed that these tasted as good as they did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eureka, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States