Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My friend who is wheat-intolerant said these were really yummy treats. She and her family enjoyed them. My family said they were good. I thought they were yucky. They were very crunchy. I used Red Mill biscuit and baking mix. Maybe there is a better mix to use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These are the best chocolate chip cookies I have found since going gluten-free. I did make a few changes, I omitted the white sugar and salt, used 2 eggs in lieu of egg substitute, and added 3 cups of gluten-free flour. My kids could not tell they were gluten-free and my friends loved them. Thank you for a great gluten-free recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briggsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These cookies are amazing, they dont taste GF at all! I made it for my husband, who is celiac, and my kids ended up eating most of the cookies. They want me to make this recipe all the time. I mixed my own GF baking mix by blending brown rice, tapioca and almond flours. This is a winner! Thanks for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
These were really, really good. I only added a 1/2 cup of sugar (I didn't have any brown sugar on hand), left the salt out and used 2 eggs i/o egg substitute. They were still yummy and sweet. I will absolutely make these again, and I'm going to try molasses too. I'm recommending this to all my gluten free friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZANNE_STAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was the first GF recipe I've tried. I give it 5 stars with the following modifications (based on the other reviews I read): 2 eggs instead of egg substitute; no salt; 3 1/2 C. GF baking mix. Unlike others I did not think they were too sweet. My baking mix was 2 c. white rice flour, 1 c. tapioca starch and 1/2 c. sorghum flour. It was excellent; my 5-year-old son loves them and didn't think they taste any different than standard cookies. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Conover, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
yay!!!!!A Great recipe that doesn't crumble,or taste gritty. Also multiplies and freezes very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Delicious! These gluten free cookies taste just like the real thing! Following other reviews I cut out the white sugar, used 2 eggs in place of the egg substitute and actually omitted the salt. They are wonderful cookies! I am going to pass this recipe on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
After a few tweeks, these cookies are amazing! I added more vanilla and used chopped toasted pecans instead of walnuts. Ended up tastier than the other batch I prepared that day containing wheat flour. I only slightly reduced the sugar amount and enjoyed the best gluten-free dessert I've prepared so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
These are wonderful!! I replaced the butter with butter flavored Crisco, and used 3/4 of a bag of chocolate chips. These taste so much like "real" cookies, my husband asked me if they were really gluten free. Thanks so much. One more day of happily being gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is much better than store bought! I did make some subs: mixed in gluten-free, casein-free shortening with GFCF margarine, used 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1 egg, reduced salt to 1/4 tspn (I used Arrowhead GF baking mix which already had salt in it - could be why others mentioned theirs was salty?) Mine were a little flat and crispy but not to the point of becoming one big cookie on the sheet. Still delicious - kids loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States