Chocolate Chip Cookie Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
So sorry, but I had a horrid time with this ... #1) It's insanely sweet. #2) and perhaps I shouldn't give it a 2 rating because I did do as others suggested and baked in cake pans - maybe that was the problem, but: I let cake cool in pan 20", then turned the first one out - it was still warm and gooey and completely fell apart - that's when I saw the submitters note about making it a day ahead of time, but by then it was too late and I had to getterdone. I popped the other 2 into the freezer to chill - waited another 20 minutes, and then turned them out. Although perfectly cool to the touch, they immediately began to sink and crack, so presentation was soooo sad (grin). On the plus side, they DO taste exactly like soft chocolate chip cookies. But (as mentioned above) they are just SO sweet - nobody could finish even the smallest sliver...I'm so sorry - lovely concept. Having said all that, I *do* think this would be great to make ahead of time (since batter makes 3) and then decorate and serve *individually* like those cookie-cake bakeries you see in the mall. Final note: someone mentioned not to overcook ... perhaps I was too careful with that as well - with final layer, I went the full 20 minutes then pulled ... that was the best layer of the three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The cookie/cake was fabulous. It's a cookie, no it's a cake. It's both. The icing was too sweet for my office colleagues who thought it would have been perfect without icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I made this cake twice now. Amazing! I always say I am better at cookie than baking, but with this everyone thinks it's done by an actual bakery! I plan on using apples in the fall with a caramel icing! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I neeeded a birthday cake for a coworker who loves choc chip cookies so I tried this. It was really good! I did what another reviewer suggested and used 3 9in round cake pans. I just sprayed them well with cooking spray. The layers were even and came out easily after a little help in getting them loose. Do not overbake this cake. As soon as it looks as if the batter will harden when taken out from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Benak
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I wasn't sure what to expect texture wise for this cake. I couldn't tell if it would be more like a cookie or a cake. The answer is it is a little of both. It is like a huge layered soft amazing chocolate chip cookie. I made this for my daughter's 8th birthday and everybody raved about it and several people asked to take pieces home. The only change I made was to use different chocolate icing since I had some made already that needed used up. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Benak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This recipe is THE BOMB!!! Perfect!! My daughter turned 16 and couldnt figure out what to make her because she doesnt eat cake! This fit the bill!! I didnt use the frosting part I ended up making her a chocolate chip cookie ice cream cake! Turns out nice and chewy and so soft at the same time! Delicious!! If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I made this after my son asked for a cookie cake. It was a hit and super easy. I used a different icing and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Jacobson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My Husband loved this very rich chocolate cookie cake. I used 3 nine inch cake pans, added parchment paper, then sprayed the pans. It was very easy to remove the cookie layers. After adding some frosting to the two layers, I still had some frosting left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States