Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Made this for a family get together last weekend. It was gone in minutes! Bonus points because I didn't have to turn on the oven. I used packaged cookies for the crust but used Wegmans yummy store-baked chocolate chunk cookies for around the sides. I used choc chip cookie dough ice cream for the first layer and then regular vanilla for the "balls" on top drizzled with hot fudge and decorated with mini M&M's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
So simple and easy to make...as well as customize! I just finished making mine, with one layer of chocolate ice cream and one layer of vanilla. I crushed up chocolate sandwich cookies (after taking the creme out) to go in between the ice cream layers. Looks delicious and I can't wait to present it at the BBQ I'm going to tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I followed this recipe with a few of the modifications listed by others. I sprayed the 9-inch spring-form pan with cooking spray. I used crumbled Oreo cookies mixed with butter as the base and Nilla wafers standing up as the edging around the outside. I heated the hot fudge sauce and drizzled 3/4 cup over the Oreo base. The original author was spot on -- 20 cookies and 1/4 cup butter was the exact amount. After freezing, I spread the first layer of Vanilla ice cream and crumbled Oreos and Nilla wafers on top. After freezing, I spread on the 2nd layer of Vanilla ice cream and topped with more crumbled Oreos, Nilla wafer cookies and hot fudge. I froze for 4 hours with aluminum foil on top so not to pick up any freezer odors. After releasing it from the spring form pan, I spread the top with Cool Whip. It was the perfect summertime birthday cake for my ice-cream loving husband. I'll make this again -- I love the endless possibilities for modifying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was a huge hit, but I changed a lot. Did the chocolate chip cookie bottom crust in a 9x13 and lined the sides with Oreos. Used hershey chocolate syrup in between two layers and just spread the top layer of ice cream (it had melted too much too scoop). Topped it with some crackle syrup and served with whipped cream, my fiance could not have been happier. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I feel guilty for all the compliments I got for making this cake- it was way to easy! All my kids say they want this for their birthdays now. Much more affordable than buying those premade ones at the store and more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
The greatness of this recipe is how truly adaptable it is. I'm not sure you could say I even followed this recipe by the time I was done adding and tweaking. However, it was a bit hit, so here are my changes. I used crushed oreos with margarine as the bottom crust. I then spread melted fudge and put chocolate ice cream over that. My next layer (after freezing) was a bottle of that magic shell chocolate. It gave such a nice crunch! Before the magic shell could freeze I put more crumbled oreos on top. After freezing that layer, I topped off with a layer of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream. The different oreo layers with extra fudge made it very similar to Dairy Queen ice cream cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe! Made this for my hubby for Father's Day, and he almost refused to share, lol. Will definitely make again, but next time will cut the butter in half, it was way too much, I had to keep adding cookies to absorb it all. The best thing about this is that you can use so many different combination of cookies and ice cream. I made with chocolate chip cookies, mint chocolate chip ice cream and vanilla bean ice cream. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had some chocolate chip cookies in the freezer and decided to make a mini version of this for Hubs and me. I used this recipe as a guide, but I think my result was similar to the submitter's intent. I used a tiny 4" springform pan that I lined with plastic wrap to ensure I wouldn't have trouble getting it out of the pan. My cookies were too big for my mini pan so I had to skip the border of cookies. I used black raspberry chocolate chip ice cream, skipped the hot fudge topping, and topped it with whipped cream and a cherry. Any way you decide to change this up will no doubt be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I made this for my sons birthday. It turned out perfect! I used cookie dough ice cream (his favorite). It also went well with the cookie crumb crust! Much cheaper than those expesive one's you can buy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This cake was amazing. I made it for my mom's b-day, and she said it was best cake she has ever had. I used chocolate ice cream instead of vanilla and still tasted fenomanal. I have made this cake for everyone's birthday, and I never tired of the fabolous taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States