Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Ronda
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Far exceeded my expectations!! I used Oreo cookies. Absolutely delicious! Easy to prepare. This is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
My husband's favorite cake is ice cream cake and this one was a hit for his birthday. It's easy to make and you can vary the recipe to your tastes. I love it and can't wait to test out some different varieties. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I used oreos and made it a two layer cake with the cookies in the middle. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
very easy and the kids loved it! i used oreos instead of choc. chip cookies, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
For his birthday I gave my husband a choice of oreo or maple/butterscotch and he said 'peanut butter'. I used oreo crumbs, a layer of peanut butter, a layer of chocolate fudge and topped it all with lactose-free ice cream. So delicious! I used Reeses Pieces around the edge, but we found this was too sweet and the flavour didn't mesh somehow, so next time I will use plain chocolate wafers or something that doesn't detract from the peanut butter yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I made this for my in-laws, and they were convinced I am an amazing cook because of this dessert! It was a hit and looked impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
i did something like that sometime but this is soo much tasteier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I used the Chocolate Chip Crust from this recipe and found it turned out great, with a few modifications. I still crushed the cookies but instead of margarine i opted for butter, simply a personal preference. I then packed the mixture into a springform pan much like I would a graham cracker crust. With the oven at 400F I let the crust bake for about 5 minutes. Turned out splendidly. Will Make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Thank you for this wonderfully versatile recipe! I made a variation of the cake using graham cracker crumbs for the base (because we had 9oz of them in a bag that needed using up), chocolate brownie cookies for the sides, brownie chunk ice cream, dark chocolate fudge topping and chocolate pocky. (Pocky are a Japanese treat, thin pretzel sticks dipped in chocolate or an endless variety of other sweet and savory toppings. They're not too hard to find in North America though - I found that 3 small 40g packages were more than enough.) I put a layer of pocky on top of the first layer of ice cream, then sliced and flattened the remaining layer of ice cream so that I could arrange another layer of pocky on top. I put this in the freezer for a few hours and then drizzled the hot fudge over top and froze again for another hour or so. The end result went over very well with the kids, though I personally was not happy with the base which I found salty (probably should have used unsalted rather than salted butter). However, everyone liked the ice cream cake a lot. This was my first attempt at an ice cream cake and I think we will be making it again quite often, since there is so much variety possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was amazing! I used store bought choc. chip cookies. with fudge, then a layer of cookie dough ice cream, then a layer of crushed cookies with caramel, then a layer of french vanilla ice cream (spread out not scooped). i used chewy choc chip cookies for the outside and to decorate on top and it was ammmaazzzing! I already have requests for my bother-in-law's birthday cake :) This cake was very easy to make. It just took alot of time for the freezing between each step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States