Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This sounds like it could be a great recipe, but the ingredients don't match up with the directions! Plus the way the ingredients are listed makes it hard to understand exactly what goes where. Would it have been that hard to divide up the ingredients into sections like crust, batter and cookie dough? This is the list of ingredients I tallied: Crust: 1 1/2 chocolate wafer cookies 2Tbsp. White Sugar 1 1/4 melted butter Cookie dough: 1/4 C butter 1/4 C Brown sugar 1/4 C White Sugar 2 Tbsp. Water 1 tsp. Vanilla 1/2 C Flour 1 C Chocolate Chips Cheesecake batter: 1 C White sugar 2 8oz packages Cream Cheese 1 C Sour Cream 3 Eggs 1 tsp Vanilla Topping: 1 C Sour Cream 1 tsp. vanilla 2 Tbsp. White Sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I have made this cheesecake several times. This recipe was taken from Sunset magazine, I still have the original. If your cheesecake is undercooked, check to make sure that your oven is properly calibrated and heating evenly throughout. Also, don't forget that the sour cream is for *divided* use. A great dessert. PS, the dough is eggless to prevent salmonella, as the temp of the cake never reaches an egg-safe level. I wouldn't buy/use a cookie dough with egg and use in this recipe. Take two minutes, and make your own. _________________________________________ Back to edit, years later: to clarify my original post, Sunset magazine DIRECTLY addressed the egg-safe/salmonella element of preparing your own cookie "dough" for the cheesecake recipe - specifically to avoid salmonella contamination. The 1993 recipe states that the Sunset kitchens could not recommend the use of commercially prepared cookie dough (with eggs) because the temperature within the cooked cheesecake *might not reach past 160 degrees F in all ovens*. As far as I am concerned, on a personal level - what is the big deal about making something yourself without eggs in two minutes' time? Are you really so lazy that you have to use a commercially prepared, chemical-filled product in the place of something you can create with two brain cells rubbed together and a mixing bowl? After all - you're making the cheesecake from scratch. Why not actually make it yourself?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Great recipe. I make a great chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake and there's one tip I have: BUY THE COOKIE DOUGH!! It's a lot less hassle and tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I made this last Friday for my family dinner and it was gobbled up quickly. I don't care for cheesecake myself, but I had to try it. It was quite tasty. I used an Oreo cookie crust and added miniature chocolate chips to the cheesecake batter. I also drizzled hot fudge and caramel over the topping and scattered more miniature chocolate chips across. It looked amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Dilts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would! I let my 10 year old add the cookie dough, his first cheesecake...so it was lumpy throughout the cheesecake...but still good! The consistency of the cheesecake is awesome! This recipe is cheaper to make than any others I have found and liked. For the crust I used 1-1/2 c. graham cracker crumbs, 4 T melted margarine, 1/3 c. sugar and 1/3 c. cocoa . I didn't prebake it, just set aside. I made the cake and after 40 mins turned off the oven but left the cake inside to cool - do not open the door, just leave for 45 mins. Then cool in the fridge - delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piratefrog
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Made this for a friend's birthday and it was quite delicious! I added chocolate chips to the batter and made the Pro Ganache recipe on this website to add on top. Instead of a crushed chocolate wafer crust, I used crushed store bought chocolate chip cookies, as suggested by a reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piratefrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
How can you say the cake doesn't reach a heat level safe for eggs? There are 3 eggs in the recipe? I used premade cookie dough and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
My daughter loves this cheesecake. I do find that I have to bake it way longer than the recipe states. It does take some time to make, but it is worth it. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is wonderful! I take it to all of the holiday parties, and everyone asks for the recipe. The set up of the recipe is a little confusing, I typed my own version to make sure each layer is perfect (1 cup of sugar is divided). I also like Graham Crackers for the crust instead of the chocolate wafer cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I made this for an office birthday party. Everyone loved it!! The leftovers came home with me and my family loved it too!! Very rich and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States