Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This turns out more like a cake then a cookie. I did add 2 eggs because the mix before the eggs was VERY dry. The eggs gave it the right consistency however the texture is more like a cake. Tasty but not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkCookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This recipe is a little dry. I would suggest adding eggs to the mix. However, the recipe as is would make a good cookie crust for a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I give this recipe 5 stars only because of what was added to it that made it turn out so well. Otherwise, I can't imagine how they would turn out. I first viewed this recipe and wondered how it could possibly turn out with the lack of key ingredients. Just before I started to make it, I read the reviews, and am I sure glad I did! I combined suggestions from a few other great reviews and the bars came out wonderful! To the ingredients listed above, I added: another teaspoon of vanilla, 2 eggs, 3/4 tsp. baking soda, 3/4 tsp. baking powder, and 1/4-1/2 cup sugar. I made sure not to over bake. My husband took them to his work for "treat day" and they got rave reviews. I made them the next day for a trip north, and they were polished off in no time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made these one night when I had unknowingly run out of eggs in the middle of the Tollhouse recipe. Great substitute recipe and quite a filling cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
When I made this recipe, I took some advice from other reviews. I added 1/4 cup of sugar, an egg, and some milk. Before adding the milk and egg, the batter was very dry and clumpy. I thought that the extra 1/4 cup of sugar would make the cookie bars sweeter. But i found that they still didn't taste sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Love this recipe...so easy and tastes great. I also make it with white sugar instead of brown sugar for a shortbread type cookie bar... crunchy and sweet! Batter will be crumbly and should be pressed into the pan. Be sure the butter is softened and creamed well with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Just tried this recipe, and I am sorry to say but it turned out very dry, and does not taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I was snowed in one night and was excited to find this recipe as I was out of eggs but craving chocolate chip cookies. I tried it, no problem with dryness or consistency like other reviewers. They looked delicious going into the oven, but the finished product was not. They tasted terrible...way too sweet and not in a good way. It tasted just like eating a mouthful of brown sugar. Such a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States