Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I added one jumbo egg, one and a half teaspoons of baking soda, an extra teaspoon of vanilla, and an extra scant half cup of chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet) while omitting the nuts. I baked for 23 minutes at 350 degrees in a greased 9x13 inch pan, and it came out perfect. The bars are rich (due to the butter) but still slightly fluffy (due to the baking soda). My kids loved these. We will be making this recipe again and again since it's so much simpler than placing cookies on a baking sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enigma Bombay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asotin, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly except only baked for 15 minutes.While not terribly dry, they tasted a bit like burnt butter. Some people love that but I prefer a traditional cookie taste. Also, very dense since there was no baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
These are addicting in their own way. I did add the egg as reviewers suggested. Yes, they were a bit crumbly and your first bite could be described as dry but they were definitely tasty! Hard to stop at just one. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I basically had to change everything. Added an egg and some milk. Some extra vanilla. Still way too thick. Good luck smoothing it out into a 10 x 15. Had to use a 9 x 13 in order to actually make it touch all the sides of the pan. Go find a better one. This one is a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
The way I made this recipe was PERFECT! I put the mix in a 9x13 pan, and reduced the temperature to 325 degrees and baked for 20 minutes. I also added 1 egg. They were gooey in the middle and I loved them! I also put extra chocolate chips and no nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This turns out more like a cake then a cookie. I did add 2 eggs because the mix before the eggs was VERY dry. The eggs gave it the right consistency however the texture is more like a cake. Tasty but not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkCookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This recipe is a little dry. I would suggest adding eggs to the mix. However, the recipe as is would make a good cookie crust for a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I give this recipe 5 stars only because of what was added to it that made it turn out so well. Otherwise, I can't imagine how they would turn out. I first viewed this recipe and wondered how it could possibly turn out with the lack of key ingredients. Just before I started to make it, I read the reviews, and am I sure glad I did! I combined suggestions from a few other great reviews and the bars came out wonderful! To the ingredients listed above, I added: another teaspoon of vanilla, 2 eggs, 3/4 tsp. baking soda, 3/4 tsp. baking powder, and 1/4-1/2 cup sugar. I made sure not to over bake. My husband took them to his work for "treat day" and they got rave reviews. I made them the next day for a trip north, and they were polished off in no time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made these one night when I had unknowingly run out of eggs in the middle of the Tollhouse recipe. Great substitute recipe and quite a filling cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States