Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
this was great. easy to make. i took the advise of another reviewer and added applesauce (about1/2 cup) since some said it was too dry. mine came out really moist. i also substituted brown sugar for the white sugar for the topping and mini chips. we will definitely make this over and over. has to cook a lot longer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I have made this cake twice now and they keep comin' back for more. And both times, I took the advice of other reviewers and added the half a cup of apple sauce, which makes the cake lovely and moist. I also divided the topping and swirled half of the mixture through the batter and the other half I put on top. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This coffee cake was a big hit with kids and adults. I substituted dark brown sugar for the white sugar in the chocolate mixture and it was very good. I pressed down the topping before I baked (based on other reviewer's feedback) and that helped it adhere to the crust. For the second layer of batter, I dropped it in teaspoons and then spread it. The cake itself is not too sweet and the cinnamon/chocolate combo was great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
If I were a chocolate chip cookie, and I wanted to be a cake, I would be this! This was good, family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This cake is absolutely delicious. The batter is hard to work with, though. A few suggestions: Cut the sugar in half (in the batter. In the topping, I used 1/4 cup plus two tablespoons). You'll also save 22 calories per serving. If you're worried it won't be sweet enough, use nonfat vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. I also used sour milk instead of sour cream. Again, it made the batter thinner (easier to work with), and it saves another 29 calories per serving. Finally, I cut half a cup of the flour. Mostly because, at that point, I didn't see how I could stir in any other dry ingredients. There's a little less batter, but it's easier to spread (be sure to cut a few minutes off the cooking time). And you just saved another 9 calories per serving. Not only is the cake slightly healthier this way, but with food prices going up, I see no reason to use more sugar or flour than needed. Most recipes are just fine if you cut the amount of sugar in half, and this is no exception. Another suggestion - if you stir half the topping into the batter, instead of trying to cut the batter in half, it's much easier to work with. I've also never experienced a problem with dryness - I suspect people who have this problem simply overcooked it, or left it out uncovered for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I just made this recipe for the third time, and have to say that it is just DELICIOUS! I've never had the problem with dryness that others have mentioned, but this time I did try to cut the chocolate chips, sugar and cinnamon into the recipe before baking. I found that it eliminated the need to attempt to "spread" the thick batter over top of these ingredients. It's a very good recipe that I'll keep on making. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
It was very hard to spread the sour cream mixture. When it came time to putting it on top of the chocolate chips, I just placed the batter in random places, and tried spreading from there. I would reccamend adding an extra egg to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Very good, not too sweet. All my friends ask me to bring this dessert. The sour cream makes this cake soooo moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baileybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
My kids just loved this. I added some applesauce for moisture after reading several comments about it being dry. It is wonderful! I think that I will use mini chocolate chips next time so they distribute a little easier. It made a wonderful Christmas breakfast for the little ones who aren't in to eggs and whatnot. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I baked this in a bundt pan and found that I would need to double the recipe to get a full size bundt. However, baking it that way ended up making it a "cookie dough" coffee cake because the filling was kind of gooey. This was a bonus - it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States