Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
i found it a bit sweet, so next time i would cut back on the sugar topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
My family was crazy about this cake! I used buttermilk instead of sour cream (which my daughter won't eat) and it was good, although a bit dry. I also did a little cocoa/powder sugar/milk glaze on top to honor a request from my daughter. It was a nice touch. I think I'll try the brown sugar in the topping next time. The overall chocolate/sugar taste was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
The flavor was wonderful, however I didn't think it looked all that pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I have made this cake twice now and they keep comin' back for more. And both times, I took the advice of other reviewers and added the half a cup of apple sauce, which makes the cake lovely and moist. I also divided the topping and swirled half of the mixture through the batter and the other half I put on top. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This coffee cake was a big hit with kids and adults. I substituted dark brown sugar for the white sugar in the chocolate mixture and it was very good. I pressed down the topping before I baked (based on other reviewer's feedback) and that helped it adhere to the crust. For the second layer of batter, I dropped it in teaspoons and then spread it. The cake itself is not too sweet and the cinnamon/chocolate combo was great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I baked this in a bundt pan and found that I would need to double the recipe to get a full size bundt. However, baking it that way ended up making it a "cookie dough" coffee cake because the filling was kind of gooey. This was a bonus - it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This recipe is quite good with some modifications. I used brown sugar instead of white in the chocolate chip mixture and added chopped walnuts. The cake was very moist; not dry like others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Great recipe! Everyone loved it! I added a little apple sauce as someone suggested and it was nice and moist!I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I just made this recipe for the third time, and have to say that it is just DELICIOUS! I've never had the problem with dryness that others have mentioned, but this time I did try to cut the chocolate chips, sugar and cinnamon into the recipe before baking. I found that it eliminated the need to attempt to "spread" the thick batter over top of these ingredients. It's a very good recipe that I'll keep on making. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Ok- The sugar and chocolate on the top was just sitting there and would fall off. The taste was ok but it was like eating a good cake with raw,crunchy sugar on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States