Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Good, had difficulty with batter, Thick. Unable to layer. In future would double the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokingalleykat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I love this cake recipe. A co-worker made it for several events and then gave us the recipe. We use MINI chocoate chips and it tastes great and is super moist and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I've made this a few times now as written and like other reviewer's I added 1/2 cup applesauce for moistness. Also, to give it another twist I replaced vanilla extract with almond essence as this reminded me of a German cake my mother used to make. I like both versions, but prefer my little twist of almond essence in the batter and include almond slivers in the topping for when having visitors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephinebat10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I thought this coffee cake was dry even though I baked it for the minimum time suggested. Also, I would suggest putting ALL of the cinnamon sugar mixture in the middle of the coffee cake with just chocolate chips on the top. The sugar just sat on top of the cake rather than baking in as I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I didn't get to try this but my son and 2 friends ate the entire thing on their way to a baseball tournament and asked me to make another one when they got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This cake is delicious, but the batter is very thick and hard to work with. In the batter I substitute half white sugar and half brown sugar and use brown sugar and a bit of butter with the chocolate chips . You just kind of have to smear the batter over the top as best you can, it's not pretty, But crumble more topping on, and you can't tell. Using the brown sugar gives it much more of a gooey chocolate chip cookie taste in a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
A bit dry and dense, needed more applesauce than most people recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My 7 year old made this (with my supervision) and it was so easy to make. Plus it is VERY moist! My husband and co-workers just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italian freak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Difficult batter to work with- didn't think i would have enough for the 13 x 9 pan, but it came out great in the end. Would make it again and add the applesauce as suggested below for additional moisture. Used mini chips and suggest those to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Very good. Added the 1/2 cup of (unsweetened) applesauce, as suggested, and was very pleased with the crumb. Came together very quickly and easily and had all ingredients on hand. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States