Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Absolutly amazing! I also added 1/2 cup of applesauce as suggested by some and found it to be exactly what it needed. I made the mistake pf putting it in a too small of a pan so the center didnt cook, but the taste was so yummy i ended up eating the doughy part anyway. Even my very picky boyfriend is asking me when im going to make this again now that its gone. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathrynbrkroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I LOVE this coffeecake! It is absolutely yummylicious! :) I did make a few changes... i used about 2/3 cup of sugar in the batter, half white and half brown sugar. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon into the batter because i love the flavor. In the topping (which i, instead of layering, took to heart the suggestions of other reviewers and swirled half into the batter and sprinkled the remaining half on top) I used brown sugar instead of white and, this may sound strange, but i used carob chips instead of chocolate chips. This may sound weird but i personally loved it. And to all who don't go for the extremely sweet at breakfast (though don't get me wrong, I am an all-out chocolate lover!!!), you may like it too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I can't believe this recipe has only 4 stars. I was just here browsing and came across it and I have been making this cake for 30 yrs! It is moist, flavorful and EASY!! Not too sweet if that's what you're looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Added a half a cup of unsweetened applesauce, as many have suggested. Also used brown sugar in the topping in stead of white, and mixed half of the topping into the batter instead of layering. I baked it for 35 minutes and it came out very moist. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
AWESOME!! I followed everything exactly and added 1/2 cup of homemade applesauce to the batter and it was DELISH! And the batter wasn't hard to spread either...a little stiff..but nothing that couldn't be spread..but my applesauce was homemade and just a little runny. I took this to church and didn't come home with any! Definitly something I will make again. Thank you for posting....God be with you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sams girl
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I must have done something wrong! This came out like a big, hard cookie instead of coffee cake. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Since the batter was so thick, I decided to add 3 oz of softened cream cheese and an extra egg to the recipe to create a more moist cake. I also increased the chocolate chips to 1 1/2 cups. Baking time was 25 minutes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, and the cake was delicious. I found the recipe easy to follow, and the results were fabulous. It was my first time making a coffee cake, and it was exactly what I wanted it to be. The cake will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I added the applesauce like others said, it was very moist but just tasted like applesauce to me. My family didn't like it at all. I wouldn't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I just got done making this recipe and it turned out fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly as it was written. I was a bit hesitant on how it was going to turn out because the batter was so similar to a cookie batter but it turned fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States