Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
A bit dry and dense, needed more applesauce than most people recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My 7 year old made this (with my supervision) and it was so easy to make. Plus it is VERY moist! My husband and co-workers just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italian freak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Difficult batter to work with- didn't think i would have enough for the 13 x 9 pan, but it came out great in the end. Would make it again and add the applesauce as suggested below for additional moisture. Used mini chips and suggest those to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Very good. Added the 1/2 cup of (unsweetened) applesauce, as suggested, and was very pleased with the crumb. Came together very quickly and easily and had all ingredients on hand. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a great cake recipe. I changed a few things when making this myself though. I don't know how I feel about sour cream in choc. chip cake, so I eliminated that from my mix. I found the batter to be very dry, so I added water to it. I didn't exactly measure--I added water and judged based on the consistency for when it would be enough. I did find that the cake wasn't very sweet. It must have been the water that I added. When I make this cake again, I'll put extra sugar. Another change I made was mixing in the choc. chips in the batter, instead of having a separate layer in the middle, but I didn't include the extra sugar or cinnamon that was supposed to be in the center. Yet another alteration is less butter. I used 60% of what the recipe said. I didn't notice any less flavor (aside from the lack of sweetness from the water). Overall, I liked this recipe, just not how dry the mix was, and the extra butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made it so many times for my husband to take to work during the holidays that the guys were asking for it. It is great. I like it without the chocolate chips..j MHO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
this recipie was cooking in the oven for 2 1/2 hrs and the middle just would not cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Yum! This one is a great coffee cake! I find any cookie or cake with sour cream in it to be so moist and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This made for a delicious start to the morning, and was relatively easy to make. I agree, it is very good with a cup of hot tea! I'm giving this 3 stars instead of 4 because the batter was SO thick that it was difficult to spread. It took about as long for me to spread the batter evenly in the pan and then over the filling as it did to make the batter! The filling could do with a bit less chocolate chips as well - it was delicious, but VERY chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Delicious! I made this last night, and by the morning, there was one little piece left! I was a little worried when the cake batter was more like bread than cake. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States