Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Nice. Tasty and yes, reminiscent of a pound cake, but a bit better (IMO). I made this for a birthday celebration at work, and there might have been one piece left at the end of the day, so I'm pretty sure my coworkers liked it a lot. This is incredibly easy, even with the topping. I had to bake an extra 25 minutes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Was better then I expected it to be. Took to a work function and it got rave reviews. Will definitely make again, maybe substitute part of the chocolate for milk chocolate. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made this recipe this morning for our youth program and it was a hit! Teenage boys were going back for seconds. I added 1/3 cup chocolate chips for the topping. Sure to make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I think this is good? I made it in a slightly larger spring form about 10". Since I was using a convect oven I baked for 48 mins, tooth pick came out clean. I cut it after cooling but still slightly warm. At first I thought it was under cooked but then realized it was the bottom that was wet, like it had to much butter. Also the chips all sank to the bottom. Will coat in flour next time to prevent that. I used milk choco. chips and butterscotch. Also swirled ever so slightly the topping into the batter which I used 1/2 brown 1/2 white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I followed another reviewer, and beat my butter, cream cheese and sugar until SUPER fluffy, and ended up with the perfect coffee cake for a birthday breakfast at work. I also upped the amount of chocolate, and chopped a few pieces to put on top. Every one loved it, and I barely had but 2 pieces to bring home! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I brought it to work and a co-worker told me it's the best cake she's ever had. I didn't have a springform pan so I baked this in a bundt pan. I used a third of the topping in the bottom of the bundt pan, then a half of the batter, then another third of the topping, the remainder of the batter and remainder of the topping. I did it this way since I was using a bundt pan. It turned out great. Mine was done at 1 hour in my oven. It is a very soft, tender cake so at first it didn't look cooked through but it was. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious. The first time I made this the middle fell as it cooled - was undercooked and gooey. ( I'd checked for doneness but maybe more to the sides than the center.) I ended up throwing it out and went out to get the ingredients to try again.....it had smelled so good baking I knew it would taste great. I checked my oven temp. and it was right on the money. Second attempt turned out fine - the cake is dense so I think you need to watch carefully to bake until done but not overdone. I used a 9 inch springform pan. Served for Easter brunch to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Awesome tasting cake! At the very last moment I realized I didn't have enough white flour, so I had to use 1.5 cups of wheat flour. It turned out great! I would either add a little butter to the topping next time or mix it in with the batter as some reviewers suggested. I used toffee chips instead of pecans as someone suggested. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
AWESOME recipe! It tastes delicious, very moist, perfect topping, and basically just one of the best coffee cake recipes ever! Plus, very easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend who is Gluten free and dairy free. I subbed out the butter for a vegan spread, the cream cheese for soy cream cheese and the flour for a gluten free ap flour mix. It came out great. Tasted like the real thing, if I served it to someone they would have never guessed it was altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States