Chocolate Chip Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I baked this for a pre-prom dinner for my son, his date, and another couple. I wanted it to be perfect - and it was awesome! I bought two pre-made chocolate crumb pie shells to use as the crust. I buttered the sides and the bottom of the springform pan before pressing the crumbs/butter mixture in the pan. I used two premade crusts in order to have my crust go up the sides of the cheesecake. All my cheesecake ingredients were at room temp. I researched (on this site) how to bake it in a water bath...check the article by Jennifer Anderson. I so hoped it would not have a crack when it was baked, but there was one (just one) and so I used a hot,wet knife to rub on top until the crack was gone. I kept the cake wrapped in the fridge for two days. On the day of the prom, I took it out of the springform pan, and prior to serving it, I sprinkled oreo crumbs on top and placed oreos (cut in half) around the edges. I cannot tell you how wonderful this looked and tasted. It's not easy to totally wow teenagers, but this did the trick. Thank you, Kristy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
The only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is the base ingredients as written are not enough to cover the pan. I had to double the amount to get a decent base. That aside this is an excellent cheesecake that went down very well on Christmas Day. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was fabulous! I did add more cookie crumbs for the base, as well as butter to accommodate. I also melted some semi-sweet chocolate and marbled the top. My guests LOVED it! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
This was a very easy cake to make and a very classic cheesecake. It's dense and flavorful. The first time I made it, the top stuck to the sides of the pan so I recommend buttering the sides of the pan. Also, a pan of water in the bottom of the oven helps. For the bottom, I used used crushed oreo cookies with the filling removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I made this for my brother-in-law's bday yesterday and it was a hit! I used a satiny chocolate glaze recipe that I found here to top it with(3/4 cup chocolate chips, 3 tablespoons of butter and 1 tablespoon of dark corn syrup and vanilla extract...heat all the above up and mix well until chocolate is liquified). I also topped that off with crused oreos and chopped chocolate pieces. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
An excellent recipe...tastes decadent when topped with whipped cream and the mentioned toppings. I found this has a tendency to cook quicker than the alloted time so keep your eye on it after 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARLEENC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I couldn't find any chocolate cookie crumbs so I made the crust with 1 1/2 cups graham cracker, 1/3 cup sugar, 1/3 cup cocoa powder, 1/3 cup butter (from the chocolate chip cheesecake I recipe). This was my first time making a cheesecake and it was very good. Rich & filling. The only thing I'll do different next time is add some chocolate chips to the top prior to baking for a more chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
I scaled back this recipe to 1/3 to use in my 6 in. springform pan. *Cook crust 6 min, cake for 35 min.* Turned out yummy! Also, if you don't have the chocolate cookies, you can always substitute graham crumbs and some cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This was my 3rd cheesecake recipe. Although the first one I tried (from Allrecipes) I have made 3 times - White Chocolate Blueberry Cheesecake. Compared to that this was bland. But, still good. I doubled the crust recipe because I like mine halfway up the side of the cake. I also clarified the butter. I did the pan of water in the oven as suggested but still developed a massive canyon of a crack in the cake - I am sure my fault and not that of the recipe. So I took one user's advice and made a chocolate sauce to pour into the crack. I used mini chocolate chips, sugar, milk and corn syrup. Also, 55 minutes baking time was too long for my oven, the cake turned an unattractive brown color around the edges and top. And, if you forget to put the mini chips in and accidently pour the batter into the crust never fear. You can still gently mix them in, just be careful not to disturb the crust. On the flavor issue, it was a very good tasting cake. If you want flavor, you have to make a flavored cake ie)peanut butter or chocolate. This is a very good basic cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very good. I used the exact recipe for the filling. For the crust I used one package of graham crackers with 1/3 cup sugar, 1/3 cup of cocoa powder, and 1/3 cup melted butter. I topped the cheesecake with chocolate ganache made from 1 cup melted semi sweet chips, 3 T of butter, 1 T corn syrup and 1 tsp of vanilla. Sprinkled crushed chocolate chip cookies on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States