Chocolate Chip Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This was the first cheesecake I've ever made, and it turned out great. I find that if you melt all of the chocolate chips and beat them into the batter, the cake turns out much creamier, smoother, and with a more even, pleasing, delicious taste, and it looks better as well. With the chocolate chips, they turn into hard crunchy chocolate pieces once the cake is cool, but if you melt and mix them the cake is completely creamy and has a better flavor. It did have a few cracks in it, but those might be eliminated by placing the springform pan in a roasting pan of boiling water while it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This was an excellent cheesecake, and a huge hit at my family reunion yesterday. It was gone before I knew it! I did make a few modifications: used chocolate graham crackers(crushed) mixed with some oreo crumbs for the crust(no need for cocoa). I also added about 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips into the batter-1/3 didn't seem like enough. Using fat free condensed milk & 1/3 reduced fat cheese worked amazingly to save on fat & calories. This will be made again for the holidays! Thank you for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I added three tablespoons of sour cream to the cream cheese mixture. Next time, I will sprinkle more chips in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I have been using this for over 20 years. It never fails me, perfect everytime! This is New York Style cheesecake (thick) not like Italian style which is creamy. Note: Coating the chips in flour makes no difference as far as sinking to the bottom so don't waste your time doing that. I use crushed chocolate cookies for the crust and it's yummy. Of course you can use plain graham cracker for the crust, omit the choc chips and top with fruit for an alternative. EITHER WAY, THIS IS THE ONLY CHEESECAKE RECIPE YOU WILL EVER NEED! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
A great cheesecake recipe any cook should have. I prefer a little tartness to my cheesecake, but this is perfect for those that want a smooth and creamy texture and a traditional taste. By the way, it doesn't matter what you do to the chocolate chips, they're going to sink to the bottom. Also, I strongly suggest baking this in a water bath - set the cheesecake pan in a larger pan that has water in it. That's the only way to bake anything that has a cheesecake/custardlike texture. If you don't, it'll crack and can dry out. Follow the baking directions to a T and you should be fine. Use an oven thermometer because all ovens vary. You should have a flawless looking cheesecake you'd be proud to serve to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
delectable....i have finally conquered how to make cheesecake....and this one came out really yummy....very rich.... for those who said it was too thick or dry i would suggest shortening the cooking time up a bit...that was my biggest mistake learning how to do cheesecakes....and try cooking it in a water bath....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMDAILEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Hi guys, Jessica here, and this is my recipe I submitted several years ago, and I'm still making cheesecakes. Just wanted you folks to know, leave the cocoa out of the crust, and omit the chocolate chips, and this is a great basic cheesecake recipe from which many variations can be made. My current favourite variation: replace graham cracker crumbs with crushed shortbread, omit cocoa, add zest of one lemon to the batter, and swirl melted seedless raspberry jam on the top with a toothpick prior to baking. Tomorrow I'm going to try adding lime zest to the batter and topping the baked, cooled cake with a layer of store-bought key lime curd. The possibilities are countless! I'm so glad many of you enjoy the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Wonderful recipe!!! I will make this again at any dinner I attend! Make sure to press your crust thin and far up the sides of the pan. This is a chocolate lovers delight! Very easy to make, just follow the directions to a "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Williams
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
You gotta love it when a plan comes together! This was my first attempt at this recipe and other than a minor crack (which was mostly hidden by the chips) it came out perfect. Served on New Years Day 2011, it was well recieved. No wonder. The condensed milk makes this cheesecake special. It has my seal of approval, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is my 2nd time baking a cheesecake from scratch and to my suprise, it bakes beautifully . The cake was very creamy which is to my liking. Sure will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States