Chocolate Chip Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Hi guys, Jessica here, and this is my recipe I submitted several years ago, and I'm still making cheesecakes. Just wanted you folks to know, leave the cocoa out of the crust, and omit the chocolate chips, and this is a great basic cheesecake recipe from which many variations can be made. My current favourite variation: replace graham cracker crumbs with crushed shortbread, omit cocoa, add zest of one lemon to the batter, and swirl melted seedless raspberry jam on the top with a toothpick prior to baking. Tomorrow I'm going to try adding lime zest to the batter and topping the baked, cooled cake with a layer of store-bought key lime curd. The possibilities are countless! I'm so glad many of you enjoy the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This turned out great! I chopped up about 1.5 cups of dark chocolate into chunks. Because they were in various sizes, I did not use the flour to coat them. I did put about half of the chocolate into the batter and half on top. I think it baked just fine just on the oven rack, but it did have cracks on top-but like someone else said, they were pretty much covered up by the chocolate chunks. Someday I may try a water bath if I need a smooth top, but this worked great. I made it a day a head so it would have plenty of time to chill. Everyone LOVED it-we ate 2/3 in one day :P It was nice and thick and cream cheesy but chocolately too-a wonderful mix! I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
excellent!! like the rating below, this was the FIRST CHEESECAKE EVER that didn't crack!! and it was tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
FANTASTIC cheesecake recipe! For the first time since I started making cheesecakes, this one did not crack. It was rich in flavor and texture, so if you like a dense cheesecake as opposed to a fluffy one, this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Didn't love this. Found it too heavy and dense, we prefer a lighter texture. I think the condensed milk was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Hubby said this is hands down the best cheesecake he has ever had. Won't even use a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was the first cheesecake I ever made and it turned out superb! I will be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Wonderful cheesecake! I have made this recipe numerous times for family get-togethers and it has been a huge hit every time! I like mine to be very chocolaty so I put extra chips in but besides that I wouldn't change a single thing........... Warning: if you are planning on making this for a party I would suggest making an extra to hide in the fridge and save for later, cause you may not be able to get a piece with other people around, this goes in a flash!:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABKAkarategirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This recipe was absolutely awesomely delicious! Even though it was time consuming, it was well worth it. I recommend that you let it refrigerate for at least 6 to 8 hours before you eat it so it can fully chill. Other than that, awesome recipe. We followed it exactly as is, and it turned out great! Definently will make it again!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I just made this cake for my father in law and it was delicious! It was my first time making a cheesecake so I was a bit nervous... but my cake didn't crack at all and came out creamy and moist. I followed the directions except that I melted 3/4 cups of the chocolate chips with 1 tbsp of butter in the microwave and mixed it in with the cream cheese and condensed milk. The melted chocolate made a "marble look" which was cool. I then sprinkled the remaining chocolate chips on the top of the cake batter once it was in the pan. I did put my spring pan in another pan (just a larger plain cake pan) and added about 1/2 inch of boiling water and baked for one hour... then cooled in the oven for one hour. Sounded difficult at first but ended up not being too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States