Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Tastes like a chocolate chip cheesecake and is so simple to make! This was a HUGE hit at a ladies' luncheon that I made it for. Everyone kept going back for more and everyone requested the recipe. Just be sure you let everyone know that it's a DESSERT cheese ball. No one had ever seen a dessert cheese ball before, and one lady got quite confused as to why a cheese ball had black specks in it and was served with graham crackers! I served it with regular graham crackers and also chocolate graham crackers. I think it tasted best with the chocolate graham crackers. A helpful hint: Add graham crackers and/or chocolate graham crackers to the ingredients list. Since they weren't listed, when I made my grocery list I neglected to buy any and had to make a special trip back to the grocery store when I realized I had nothing to serve the cheese ball with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
480 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
so tasty! i have made this more times than i can count for certain occasions. some tips on this: NO LOWFAT ALLOWED! its too runny. and also, if you can't get it to form into a ball, you dont have enough sugar. add just a little extra at a time and it will be moldable. another good time saver- stick it in the freezer instead of the fridge. cuts the time in half. i also like to skip the nuts, add extra choc chips, and roll the ball in toffee bits. and then definately serve with chocolate grahms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
459 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I MADE THIS RECIPE FOR THE FIRST TIME. I FOUND THE OTHER REVIEWS TO BE MOST HELPFUL,ESPECIALLY THE SUGGESTION OF INCREASING THE CONFECTIONERS SUGAR TO 1 CUP WHICH I DID. I ALSO HAD NO TROUBLE WITH IT FORMING INTO A BALL QUICKLY. MAYBE OTHERS HAD TROUBLE BECAUSE THEY SOFTENED THE CREAM CHEESE AND BUTTER IN THE MICROWAVE. I SOFTENED MINE FOR 1 HOUR AT ROOM TEMP.-NO PROBLEMS. EVERYONE LOVED IT AND I PLAN TO MAKE IT AGAIN FOR ANOTHER EVENT THIS WEEK. THIS ONE'S A DEFINITE KEEPER!!!! KATHY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
447 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is the best dessert ball I have yet to serve! 1/2'd the recipe and made the first cheese ball with toffee bits based on other recommendations and the second cheese ball with the pecans based on the recipe. Needless to say our friends must all have sweet tooths, as the toffee bit dessert ball flew off the table dissolving into numerous mouths!!! Sublime!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I thought this was easy! I made it about a year ago, but remembered for a party. Anyway, rather than deal with the "Will it set, or won't it?" issue, I lined a shallow bowl with plastic wrap, and scoop the mix into it. I smoothed out the bottom, and stuck it in the fridge. Next day, flip it over on a plate, press on the outer topping of your choice, and Viola! Much easier to serve and scoop off of rather than a big round ball anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This one took me for surprise ! I love it ! I used real butter and boxed cream cheese, I also used 3 TBS brown sugar. I did whip mine a long time in the mix master and placed in a bowl in the fridge over night. It was very soft,but after a day in the fridge, it formed into a perfect ball. I scooped it out onto waxed paper and rolled in Toffee bits. It really tasted like cookie dough once chilled. For those having trouble with forming a ball, you might want to chill it in a metal bowl, and be sure to use room temperature (real) butter and (regular)cream cheese. I don't know if the whipping had anything to do with it, but my cheese ball did form well. Good luck :) Thanks for a great new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This is the coolest recipe. I shaped it into a ball and placed on a serving plate. I cut a star out of construction paper and laid it on top. I sprinkled chopped pecans all over and then removed the star which I covered with mini chocolate chips. It was really neat. I've also done just strips of paper altnernating between chopped pecans and mini chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I used 1 cup conf. dugar, sifted, 3 TBLS brown sugar, 1 cup mini chips and abut 1/2 tsp. vanilla. WONDERFUL! Took it to work today for Boss's Day. Everyone gathered around and did not leave until the last chip was gone! I served with the honey graham sticks and chocolate teddy grahams! It is also great with fresh strawberries! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Taste is awsome but i used margerine vs butter - do not do this - the butter is needed to help keep in a ball form. I will make again with butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I made this yesterday for a candle party. My friends sat at the table it was at and wouldn't move!! I made it exactly the way it is written, and I served it with both the graham cracker sticks and chocolate wafers. They were both great, but I have to admit I think my friends would have just used spoons if I had let them. I gave out the recipe to about 6 of them before they left!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 975) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States